This is a profile picture of the NWMO

Laurie Swami

  • President and CEO
  • Nuclear Waste Management Organization

Laurie Swami is the President and CEO of the NWMO. She was appointed to the role in 2016 and is responsible for implementing Canada’s plan for the long-term management of used nuclear fuel. Ms. Swami previously served as Senior Vice-President of Decommissioning and Nuclear Waste Management at Ontario Power Generation (OPG). Her responsibilities included overseeing operation of OPG’s nuclear waste management facilities, as well as implementing OPG’s low- and intermediate-level nuclear waste deep geologic repository. She began her career at OPG in 1986 and held various roles with increasing responsibility in the Nuclear Division. She holds a Bachelor of Science in Engineering Chemistry from Queen’s University and a Master of Business Administration from the Schulich School of Business.

This is a profile picture of the NWMO

Lisa Frizzell

  • Vice-President, Stakeholder Relations

Lisa Frizzell is the Vice-President of Stakeholder Relations at the NWMO. Before joining the organization as Director of Corporate Affairs in 2012, Ms. Frizzell worked in communications for a number of corporate, academic and government organizations in Canada and the United States. Her focus is in strategic communications, and she brings extensive experience as a communications leader, primarily in the energy sector. Ms. Frizzell holds a Bachelor of Public Relations from Mount Saint Vincent University and an Executive Master of Business Administration from the University of Calgary’s Haskayne School of Business.

This is a profile picture of the NWMO

Georgina Kossivas

  • Chief Financial and Risk Officer

Georgina Kossivas is the Chief Financial and Risk Officer at the NWMO. She has a track record of change management in strategically oriented, operationally focused finance executive roles. Ms. Kossivas’ broad experience includes strategy development, strategic planning facilitation, consulting, and project and operations management. Prior to joining the NWMO, she was the CFO at the Technical Standards and Safety Authority and has worked in leading Canadian companies, including Atomic Energy of Canada Limited, TELUS, Bank of Montreal, and Canadian Tire. She has a Chartered Professional Accountant, Chartered Accountant designation, and holds an honours degree in Business Administration from the Ivey Business School at Western University.
This is a photo of the NWMO

Lise Morton

  • Vice-President, Site Selection

Lise Morton is the Vice-President of Site Selection. She is an accomplished leader with 31 years of experience in operations, maintenance and engineering roles. Ms. Morton has led teams in managing complex issues involving multi-faceted interfaces with regulators, governmental agencies, Indigenous groups, and internal and external stakeholders. She has broad international experience having participated in World Association of Nuclear Operators member support missions, and several International Atomic Energy Agency joint conventions and technical consultancies. With a facilitative leadership style and ability to bring out the best in people, Ms. Morton develops and communicates a compelling vision, and inspires her team to accomplish it.
This is a profile picture of the NWMO

Jennifer Spragge

  • Vice-President, People and Technology, and Chief Ethics Officer

Jennifer Spragge is the Vice-President of People and Technology, and Chief Ethics Officer at the NWMO. Prior to joining the NWMO, she held the positions of Vice-President of Human Resources and Strategic Planning at Certified General Accountants of Ontario, and Senior Director of Human Resources and Strategic Planning for Sales and Marketing at the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation. Ms. Spragge has a Bachelor of Applied Arts from Ryerson University and is a Certified Human Resources and Compensation Committee Director.

This is a photo of Doug Taylor, Vice President and General Counsel at the NWMO.

Doug Taylor

  • Vice-President and General Counsel

Doug Taylor is Vice-President and General Counsel at the NWMO. He is responsible for providing legal counsel on all aspects of the NWMO’s business. Prior to joining the NWMO, Mr. Taylor worked at Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP and at the Independent Electricity System Operator. He also practised for over 15 years in law firms in the United Kingdom, including eight as a Partner. Mr. Taylor holds a Bachelor of Law LLB (First Class Honours) from Aberdeen University in Scotland and a Master of Law LLM from Dalhousie University. He is called to the Bar in Ontario and Scotland. 

This is a profile picture of the NWMO

Bob Watts

  • Vice-President, Indigenous Relations

Bob Watts is the Vice-President of Indigenous Relations at the NWMO. He has worked on a broad range of Indigenous issues at the regional and national levels for many years, including working to establish the historic Indian Residential Schools Truth and Reconciliation Commission. Mr. Watts is also an adjunct professor at Queen’s University in Kingston, Ont.

This is a profile picture of the NWMO

Derek Wilson

  • Chief Engineer and Vice-President, Contract Management

Derek Wilson is the Chief Engineer and Vice-President of Contract Management at the NWMO. He is responsible for the implementation of the Adaptive Phased Management (APM) technical program. He is also the NWMO Project Manager for our work in support of Ontario Power Generation's (OPG) efforts to obtain regulatory approval for a proposed deep geologic repository to store low- and intermediate-level waste. The NWMO's work, on behalf of OPG, recognizes our unique technical expertise in long-term nuclear waste management. It is separate from our mandate to implement APM. Mr. Wilson is a mining engineer with over 20 years experience in the mining and heavy construction industries, primarily in project and operational management roles. Prior to joining the NWMO, he worked with the mining division of AMEC and with Holcim Canada.