Co-operation With Our International Counterparts

The NWMO has co-operation agreements with our counterparts in Finland, France, South Korea, Sweden, Switzerland, and the United Kingdom. Partnering with other radioactive waste management organizations allows us to: 

  • Foster international co-operation on the development and demonstration of technology
  • Learn from other countries’ experience
  • Keep abreast of developments in repository design and safety case development for various host rock formations

Our counterparts in Sweden (SKB) and Finland (Posiva) are our partners in the Greenland Analogue Project, a research project looking at how an ice sheet affects groundwater flow and water chemistry around a repository in crystalline bedrock during glacial events.

Underground Research Laboratories

Underground research laboratories provide facilities where we can test and demonstrate our understanding of the behaviour of engineered barriers and of the rock under true deep geological conditions.

We conduct joint research at four different underground laboratories:

Collaboration With the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA)

The NWMO actively participates in several international activities organized by the NEA. We are a member of its Radioactive Waste Management Committee, the Integration Group for the Safety Case, and the Clay Club. Current major activities include:

  • Thermodynamic Database Project
  • Expert Group on Operational Safety
  • Features, Events and Processes Database Project
  • International Collaboration on Preservation of Records, Knowledge and Memory Across Generations
  • Radioactive Waste Repository Metadata Management Project
  • Working Group on Measurement and Physical Understanding of Groundwater Flow Through Argillaceous Media (Clay Club)

Workshops and Conferences

The NWMO’s knowledge base is enhanced through active participation in workshops and conferences sponsored by such organizations as the Canadian Nuclear Society, the NEA, and the International Atomic Energy Agency.

Partnerships With Universities

Research partnerships with universities play an important role in ensuring our technical work is scientifically rigorous. Researchers from universities across Canada, and internationally, have worked on Adaptive Phased Management (APM)-related projects.

We also participate in University Network of Excellence in Nuclear Engineering (UNENE), an alliance of universities, nuclear power utilities, and research and regulatory agencies. UNENE is a not-for-profit corporation for the support and development of nuclear education, research and development capacities in Canadian universities.

Our technical staff also provide support to university students by acting as mentors, by participating on PhD thesis committees, and by sharing their expertise through review of research proposals and theses, and hands-on assistance with the design and setup of specific experiments or methods.

Peer Review

Each year, internationally recognized specialists review the work of the APM technical program. They assess whether suitable scientific and engineering approaches are in place, and evaluate whether our work is consistent with the current international state of knowledge.

Coopération avec nos homologues étrangers

La SGDN a conclu des accords de coopération avec nos homologues en Finlande, en France, en Corée du Sud, en Suède, en Suisse et au Royaume-Uni. Ces partenariats entretenus avec d’autres organisations de gestion de déchets radioactifs nous permettent : 

  • de promouvoir la coopération internationale sur le développement et la démonstration de technologies
  • de tirer profit de l’expérience acquise par d’autres pays 
  • de se tenir au fait des avancées réalisées dans la conception de dépôts et la constitution de dossiers de sûreté pour divers types de formations rocheuses

Nos homologues en Suède (SKB) et en Finlande (Posiva) collaborent avec nous au Greenland Analogue Project, un projet qui vise à déterminer comment une nappe glaciaire influencerait l’écoulement et la chimie des eaux souterraines autour d’un dépôt de roche cristalline au cours d’événements glaciaires. 

Laboratoires de recherche souterrains

Les laboratoires de recherche souterrains nous offrent des installations où nous pouvons tester et démontrer notre compréhension du comportement des barrières ouvragées et de la roche dans des conditions géologiques profondes réelles.

Nous menons des recherches conjointes dans quatre différents laboratoires souterrains :

Collaboration avec l’Agence pour l’énergie nucléaire (AEN)

La SGDN participe activement à plusieurs activités internationales organisées par l’AEN. Nous sommes membre de son Comité sur la gestion des déchets radioactifs, du Groupe d’intégration sur le dossier de sûreté et du Club Argile. Les principales activités menées actuellement sont : 

  • le Projet de base de données thermodynamiques 
  • le Groupe d’experts sur la sécurité opérationnelle
  • le Projet de base de données sur les caractéristiques, les événements et les processus
  • la Collaboration internationale sur la préservation intergénérationnelle des données, des connaissances et de la mémoire
  • le Projet de gestion des métadonnées sur les dépôts de déchets radioactifs
  • le Groupe de travail sur la mesure et la compréhension physique de l’écoulement des eaux souterraines à travers les milieux argileux (Club Argile)

Ateliers et conférences

La base de connaissances de la SGDN est enrichie par sa participation active à des ateliers et conférences parrainées par des organisations telles que la Société nucléaire canadienne, l’AEN et l’Agence internationale de l’énergie atomique

Partenariats avec des universités

Les partenariats de recherche noués avec des universités jouent un rôle important dans nos efforts visant à nous assurer que nos travaux techniques sont basés sur une démarche scientifique rigoureuse. Des chercheurs de plusieurs universités au Canada et à l’étranger ont collaboré à des projets liés à la Gestion adaptative progressive (GAP).

Nous participons aussi au Réseau d'excellence universitaire en génie nucléaire (UNENE), une alliance entre universités, installations nucléaires et organismes de recherche et de réglementation. L’UNENE est une société à but non lucratif vouée au soutien et au développement des capacités d’éducation, de recherche et de développement dans le domaine du nucléaire dans les universités canadiennes.

Notre personnel technique apporte aussi un soutien à des étudiants universitaires à titre de mentors, en participant à des jurys de thèses de doctorat et en partageant leur expertise en examinant des propositions de projets et des thèses de recherche et en offrant une aide directe à la conception et à la mise au point d’expériences ou de méthodes d’expérimentation.

Examen par des pairs

Chaque année, des spécialistes de renommée internationale examinent les travaux du programme technique de la GAP. Ils déterminent si des approches scientifiques et techniques appropriées sont utilisées et évaluent si nos travaux sont conformes à l’état actuel des connaissances internationales dans ce domaine.