Water is a life force that sustains us, flows between us, and shapes the land. Protecting water, people and the environment is a priority we share with Canadians and Indigenous peoples.

The entire purpose of Canada's plan – the reason we are investing time, effort and money to implement it – is to protect people and the environment, including water.

Throughout our work, we have learned water is a great teacher. When we follow where the water flows, we get hints of history.

For example, the borehole drilling in South Bruce and Ignace and area  is teaching us more about traces of water deep underground in the cracks and spaces in the soil, sand and rock. This will help us verify that the geology is a good choice for a deep geological repository.

By studying water on the surface in lakes and rivers, we’re learning more about how water flows and interacts with the surrounding environment so that we always ensure to respect and protect it.

And, by interweaving Indigenous Knowledge and Western Science, listening to Indigenous Knowledge Keepers, Elders, scientists, conservation authorities, industry professionals, youth and others we are constantly learning about water including the sacred and spiritual relationship Indigenous peoples, especially Indigenous women, have with water and that their voice is integral to water protection.

Our Commitment to Protecting Water

Western Science

There is a strong global scientific consensus that deep geological repositories are the best method to protect the environment – including water – and people for generations to come.

The proposed deep geological repository will contain and isolate used nuclear fuel from water and the surrounding environment using multiple barriers.

One barrier is the rock itself. The repository will be built deep underground in rock where there is very little water and where what tiny traces of water that exist move very slowly. This is important because it is a sign that the rock has essentially been disconnected from the water we see on the surface for millions or even billions of years. 

Bentonite clay is another barrier. Bentonite is proven to be a powerful barrier to water flow. It swells when exposed to water, making it an excellent sealing material. Bentonite is also very stable, as see in natural formations formed millions to hundred of millions of years ago.

We also plan to use a thin copper coating on the used nuclear fuel containers, which are made of steel, to act as another barrier to prevent water from reaching the fuel. Copper is a natural material that is known to be durable under deep rock conditions. Naturally pure copper ore has been mined from around the Great Lakes region and Indigenous communities have explored the copper deposits in the same area for thousands of years, building substantial local, traditional knowledge.

Indigenous Knowledge

Elders and Traditional Knowledge Keepers have told us that access to and preservation of water is particularly top-of-mind to Indigenous peoples who have travelled by and been sustained by these waters since time immemorial. This knowledge brings a deeper understanding to the NWMO’s process for selecting a site to safely and securely store Canada’s used nuclear fuel.

Indigenous peoples see water as Mother Earth’s lifeline, so it is important that our work protects Mother Earth and protects water.

In Indigenous peoples’ worldview, everything Mother Earth created has spirit and it is viewed as alive, including water. The NWMO understands and respects this important belief, and we are committed to protecting water and the communities that surround it.

We are working with communities, including Indigenous Knowledge Keepers, to ensure our work is guided by the responsibility to protect people and the environment, including water for future generations.


Our Investment in Water Protection

As part of our commitment to protect water, we invest in and support a wide range of initiatives to advance our understanding of water including, but not limited to:

Role of Water in Our Work

Understanding water, its quality, its memory, and where it’s flowing is essential for us to be able to make good decisions as we do our work.

By listening to and working with Indigenous Knowledge Keepers, Elders, scientists, conservation authorities, industry professionals, youth and others and interweaving what we learn into our work, we are continuously assessing our potential impact on water quality, water systems and the surrounding environment to ensure that we continue to protect all types of water.

L’eau est une force vitale qui nous nourrit, circule entre nous et façonne la terre. La protection de l’eau, des gens et de l’environnement est une priorité que nous partageons avec les Canadiens et les peuples autochtones.

L’objectif du plan canadien – la raison pour laquelle nous investissons du temps, des efforts et de l’argent pour le mettre en œuvre – est de protéger les gens et l’environnement, y compris l’eau.

Au cours de nos travaux, nous avons appris que l’eau est un formidable enseignant. Lorsque nous suivons le parcours de l’eau, nous obtenons des indices sur l’histoire du monde.

Par exemple, les forages effectués dans la région de South Bruce et d’Ignace nous offrent des enseignements sur les traces d’eau qui sont présentes dans les fissures et les espaces dans le sol, le sable et la roche. Ces informations nous aideront à vérifier si la géologie locale est propice à l’établissement d’un dépôt géologique en profondeur.

En étudiant l’eau à la surface des lacs et des rivières, nous tirons des enseignements sur la façon dont l’eau s’écoule et interagit avec le milieu environnant, ce qui nous aidera à le respecter et à le protéger en tout temps.

En mêlant le savoir autochtone et la science occidentale, en écoutant les gardiens du savoir autochtone, les aînés, les scientifiques, les responsables de la conservation, les professionnels de l’industrie, les jeunes et d’autres personnes, nous en apprenons constamment sur l’eau, notamment sur la relation sacrée et spirituelle que les peuples autochtones, en particulier les femmes, entretiennent avec l’eau et sur le fait que leur voix fait partie intégrante de la protection de l’eau.

Notre engagement pour la protection de l’eau

La science occidentale

Il y a dans le monde un fort consensus scientifique selon lequel les dépôts géologiques en profondeur constituent la meilleure méthode pour protéger l’environnement – y compris l’eau – et la population pour les générations à venir.

Le dépôt géologique en profondeur proposé confinera le combustible nucléaire irradié et l’isolera de l’eau et du milieu environnant au moyen de barrières multiples.

L’une de ces barrières est la roche elle-même. Le dépôt sera construit en profondeur dans une roche où il y a très peu d’eau et où les minuscules traces d’eau qui existent se déplacent très lentement. C’est important, car c’est le signe que la roche est essentiellement déconnectée de l’eau que nous voyons à la surface depuis des millions, voire des milliards d’années. 

L’argile bentonitique est une autre barrière. L’argile bentonitique est une matière naturelle dont l’étanchéité à l’eau a été démontrée. C’est une matière qui se gonfle au contact de l’eau, ce qui en fait un excellent matériau de scellement. Elle est également très stable, comme le confirment les observations faites dans des formations naturelles vieilles de centaines de millions d’années.

Nous prévoyons également appliquer une fine couche de cuivre sur les conteneurs de combustible nucléaire irradié, qui sont en acier, afin d’empêcher l’eau d’atteindre le combustible. Le cuivre est un matériau naturel dont la durabilité dans les conditions qui existent en profondeur dans la roche a été démontrée. Du minerai de cuivre pur a été extrait dans la région des Grands Lacs et les collectivités autochtones ont exploré les gisements de cuivre dans la même région pendant des milliers d’années, ce qui leur a permis d’acquérir un important savoir local et traditionnel à son égard.

Le savoir autochtone

Les aînés et les gardiens du savoir traditionnel nous ont dit que l’accès à l’eau et sa préservation sont particulièrement importants pour les peuples autochtones. L’eau leur a servi de moyen de transport et a assuré leur subsistance. Ce savoir permet de saisir toute l’importance du processus mis en oeuvre par la SGDN pour choisir un site pour stocker de manière sûre et sécuritaire le combustible nucléaire irradié canadien.

Les peuples autochtones considèrent l’eau comme notre lien vital avec la Terre Mère. Il est donc essentiel que notre travail protège la Terre et l’eau.

Dans la conception que se font les Autochtones du monde, tout ce que la Terre Mère a créé, notamment l’eau, a un esprit et est considéré comme vivant. La SGDN comprend et respecte cette croyance importante, et nous nous sommes engagés à protéger l’eau et les collectivités environnantes.

Nous travaillons avec les collectivités, y compris les gardiens du savoir autochtone, pour faire en sorte que notre travail soit guidé par la responsabilité de protéger les gens et l’environnement, y compris l’eau pour les générations futures.

Notre investissement dans la protection de l’eau

Le rôle de l’eau dans notre travail

Il est essentiel de comprendre l’eau, sa qualité, sa mémoire et son parcours pour pouvoir prendre de bonnes décisions dans le cadre de notre travail.

En écoutant et en travaillant avec les gardiens du savoir autochtone, les aînés autochtones, les scientifiques, les responsables de la conservation, les professionnels de l’industrie, les jeunes et d’autres personnes, et en intégrant ce que nous apprenons dans nos travaux, nous évaluons continuellement notre impact potentiel sur la qualité de l’eau, les systèmes d’approvisionnement en eau et les milieux environnants, ce qui nous permettra de continuer de protéger tous les types d’eau.