The Council of Elders and Youth is an advisory body to NWMO management. It provides counsel on the application of Indigenous Knowledge in the implementation of Adaptive Phased Management. In addition, the Council of Elders and Youth provides advice on issues that could enhance the development and maintenance of good relations with Aboriginal communities.

The NWMO recognizes that Indigenous Elders carry the wisdom that connected their peoples to all creation since the Creator placed them here on Turtle Island. The NWMO also acknowledges that Elders possess an understanding of Mother Earth that constitutes traditional science, which enabled their ancestors to live in harmony with nature. The NWMO further respects that Elders are the custodians of traditions, customs, and values of their respective societies, and form a link between the past and the future.

There are many teachings of the Indigenous people here on Mother Earth. One of these teachings speaks of the Peoples of Mother Earth and how they have all been given different gifts and tasks to do. The Peoples must work together in balance like the four legs of a table to work effectively here on Earth.

The Elders have much traditional knowledge to share with others. One of their roles is in aiding in decision-making based on this ancient knowledge. The NWMO has been honoured to have received the counsel of Elders over the past several years. It seeks to enhance this relationship of mutual support and respect as it continues to implement its mandate in harmony with the traditional teachings of the Indigenous peoples.

The Council of Elders grew from the Elders Forum, a previous advisory group that was in place between 2005 and 2012. Over the course of 2011 and 2012, a new Terms of Reference for the Council of Elders was developed. In July 2012, the NWMO established the Council of Elders. During a traditional ceremony, former members of the Elders Forum were honoured. They were thanked for their years of advice and thoughtful assistance to the NWMO, and to Aboriginal organizations and communities involved in the NWMO’s work.

Mission Statement

The Council of Elders and Youth will provide advice to the NWMO that will help protect and preserve all creation: air, land, fire, water, plants, medicines, animals, and humankind – guided by the seven universal teachings of love, trust, sharing, honesty, humility, respect, and wisdom.

Members of the Council of Elders and Youth (July 2012–present)

Elders

This photo is of Elder Donna Augustine, a member of the Council of Elders and Youth.

Donna Augustine

  • Rexton, NB
This photo is of Elder Angus Gardiner, a member of the Council of Elders and Youth.

Angus Gardiner

  • Île-à-la-Crosse, SK
This photo is of Elder Diane Longboat, a member of the Council of Elders and Youth.

Diane Longboat

  • Six Nations of the Grand River, ON
This photo is of Elder Grace Manitowabi, a member of the Council of Elders and Youth.

Grace Manitowabi

  • Sagamok First Nation, ON
This photo is of Elder George Morin, a member of the Council of Elders and Youth.

George Morin

  • Prince Albert, SK
This photo is of Elder Dorothy Parenteau, a member of the Council of Elders and Youth.

Dorothy Parenteau

  • Wabigoon Lake Ojibway Nation, ON
This photo is of Elder Billie Schibler, a member of the Council of Elders and Youth.

Billie Schibler

  • Winnipeg, MB
This photo is of Roland St. Germain, a member of the Council of Elders and Youth.

Roland St. Germain

  • Owen Sound, ON
This photo is of Elder Bily Two Rivers, a member of the Council of Elders and Youth.

Billy Two Rivers

  • Kahnawake, QC
This photo is of Elder Gordon Williams, a member of the Council of Elders and Youth.

Gordon Williams

  • Orleans, ON

Youth

This photo is of Shavonne Custer, a youth member of the Council of Elders and Youth.

Shavonne Custer

  • Peter Ballentyne Cree Nation, SK
This photo is of Jeff Kinew, a youth member of the Council of Elders and Youth.

Jeff Kinew

  • Ojibways of Onigaming First Nation, ON
This photo is of Madison Levi, a youth member of the Council of Elders and Youth.

Madison Levi

  • Metepenagiag Mi’kmaq Nation, NB
This photo is of Brandon Petahtegoose, a youth member of the Council of Elders and Youth.

Brandon Petahtegoose

  • Atikameksheng Anishinawbek, ON
This photo is of Rayanna Seymour, a youth member of the Council of Elders and Youth.

Rayanna Seymour

  • Big Island First Nation, ON
This photo is of Norman Stagg, a youth member of the Council of Elders and Youth.

Norman Stagg

  • Fisher River Cree Nation, MB
This photo is of Rebakah Wilson, a youth member of the Council of Elders and Youth.

Rebakah Wilson

  • Owen Sound, ON

Members of the Council of Elders and Youth are not expected to represent the views or positions of any Aboriginal organization or community. Members are independent Elders and youth representing their own perspectives. The NWMO does not expect members of the Council of Elders and Youth to represent, or to speak on behalf of, the NWMO.

Le Conseil des aînés et des jeunes est un organe consultatif dont le mandat est de conseiller la direction de la SGDN. Il fournit des conseils sur l’application du savoir traditionnel autochtone à la mise en oeuvre de la Gestion adaptative progressive. De plus, le Conseil des aînés et des jeunes conseille la SGDN sur des éléments qui pourraient favoriser l’établissement et le maintien de bonnes relations avec les collectivités autochtones.

La SGDN reconnaît que les aînés autochtones portent en eux la sagesse qui reliait leurs peuples à l’ensemble de la création depuis que le Créateur les a placés sur l’Île aux tortues. La SGDN reconnaît aussi que les aînés ont une compréhension privilégiée de notre mère la Terre, laquelle constitue la science traditionnelle qui a permis à leurs ancêtres de vivre en harmonie avec la nature. La SGDN respecte en outre le fait que les aînés soient les gardiens des traditions, des coutumes et des valeurs de leurs sociétés respectives et qu’ils forment un lien entre le passé et l’avenir.

Les peuples autochtones ont tiré plusieurs enseignements sur notre Mère la Terre. Un de ces enseignements concerne la façon dont le Créateur a confié à chacun des Peuples de la Terre des bienfaits et des tâches particulières. Les Peuples doivent coordonner leurs efforts, comme les quatre pattes d’une table, pour que leur travail sur la Terre soit fructueux.

Les aînés ont un vaste savoir traditionnel à transmettre et un de leurs rôles consiste à contribuer à la prise de décisions en s’appuyant sur ce savoir ancestral. Depuis plusieurs années, la SGDN a eu l’honneur de bénéficier des conseils des aînés. Elle souhaite renforcer cette relation de soutien et de respect mutuels afin de continuer à mener à bien sa mission en accord avec les enseignements traditionnels des peuples autochtones.

Le Conseil des aînés tire son origine du Forum des aînés, un groupe consultatif précédent dont le mandat s’est exercé de 2005 à 2012. De 2011 à 2012, un nouveau mandat pour un Conseil des aînés a été défini. En juillet 2012, la SGDN a établi le Conseil des aînés. Au cours d’une cérémonie traditionnelle, les anciens membres du Forum des aînés ont été honorés et remerciés pour les conseils et l’aide précieuse qu’ils ont fournis pendant des années à la SGDN ainsi qu’aux organisations et collectivités autochtones participant aux travaux de la SGDN. 

Énoncé de mission

Le Conseil des aînés et des jeunes fournit des avis à la SGDN qui l’aideront à protéger et à préserver toute la Création : l’air, la terre, le feu, l’eau, les plantes, les remèdes, les animaux et l’humanité – guidé par les sept enseignements universels que sont l’amour, la confiance, le partage, l’honnêteté, l’humilité, le respect et la sagesse.

Membres du Conseil des aînés et des jeunes (juillet 2012–aujourd’hui)

Aînés

Cette image figure l’aîné Donna Augustine, un membre du Conseil des aînés et des jeunes.

Donna Augustine

  • Rexton, NB
Cette image figure l’aîné Angus Gardiner, un membre du Conseil des aînés et des jeunes.

Angus Gardiner

  • Île-à-la-Crosse, SK
Cette image figure l’aîné Diane Longboat, un membre du Conseil des aînés et des jeunes.

Diane Longboat

  • Six Nations of the Grand River, ON
Cette image figure l’aîné Grace Manitowabi, un membre du Conseil des aînés et des jeunes.

Grace Manitowabi

  • Sagamok First Nation, ON
Cette image figure l’aîné George Morin, un membre du Conseil des aînés et des jeunes.

George Morin

  • Prince Albert, SK
Cette image figure l’aîné Dorothy Parenteau, un membre du Conseil des aînés et des jeunes.

Dorothy Parenteau

Cette image figure l’aîné Billie Schibler, un membre du Conseil des aînés et des jeunes.

Billie Schibler

  • Winnipeg, MB
Cette image figure l’aîné Roland St. Germain, un membre du Conseil des aînés et des jeunes.

Roland St. Germain

  • Owen Sound, ON
Cette image figure l’aîné Billy Two Rivers, un membre du Conseil des aînés et des jeunes.

Billy Two Rivers

  • Kahnawake, QC
Cette image figure l’aîné Gordon Williams, un membre du Conseil des aînés et des jeunes.

Gordon Williams

  • Orleans, ON

Jeunes

Cette image figure Shavonne Custer, un jeunes membre du Conseil des aînés et des jeunes.

Shavonne Custer

  • Peter Ballentyne Cree Nation, SK
Cette image figure Jeff Kinew, un jeunes membre du Conseil des aînés et des jeunes.

Jeff Kinew

  • Ojibways of Onigaming First Nation, ON
Cette image figure Madison Levi, un jeunes membre du Conseil des aînés et des jeunes.

Madison Levi

  • Metepenagiag Mi’kmaq Nation, NB
Cette image figure Brandon Petahtegoose, un jeunes membre du Conseil des aînés et des jeunes.

Brandon Petahtegoose

  • Atikameksheng Anishinawbek, ON
Cette image figure Rayanna Seymour, un jeunes membre du Conseil des aînés et des jeunes.

Rayanna Seymour

  • Big Island First Nation, ON
Cette image figure Norman Stagg, un jeunes membre du Conseil des aînés et des jeunes.

Norman Stagg

  • Fisher River Cree Nation, MB
Cette image figure Rebekah Wilson, un jeunes membre du Conseil des aînés et des jeunes.

Rebakah Wilson

  • Owen Sound, ON

Les membres du Conseil des aînés et des jeunes n’ont pas pour mandat de représenter le point de vue ou la position d’aucune organisation ou collectivité autochtone en particulier. Les membres sont des aînés et des jeunes indépendants qui sont chargés d’exprimer leur propre point de vue. La SGDN n’impose pas aux membres du Conseil des aînés et des jeunes de représenter la SGDN ou de parler en son nom.