One way we ensure our work is based on the best science is by working with leading scientists and experts from universities, in the industry or as part of international research groups. A particular aspect of this work is peer review, where we request independent external experts to review our work.  

Geoscientific Review Group 

The Geoscientific Review Group is composed of five internationally recognized specialists from Canada, Sweden, Switzerland, and Australia. The review group reviews and analyzes the approaches, methods, data, and criteria used to conduct the geoscientific assessments.

Site Selection Review Group 

The Site Selection Review Group is comprised of three internationally respected members from varied professional backgrounds. The group provides independent advice and guidance on the NWMO’s final stocktaking approach, methods and criteria as we prepare for site selection in 2023. The purpose of this group is to ensure the decision-making process is reasonable, comprehensive, credible, and rigorous.

The members of the Site Selection Review Group include

• Tom Isaacs, Chair of the Site Selection Review Group, Lead Advisor on the Blue Ribbon Commission on America’s Nuclear Future, Senior Advisor to Nuclear Threat Initiatives

• Mary Chakasim, Barrister and Solicitor, northern Indigenous communities, expertise in policy work for First Nations and Indigenous Law

• Claes Thegerström, former President Swedish Nuclear Fuel and Waste Management

Collectively, these review group members have knowledge and experience in nuclear waste related siting processes and international best practice, as well as experience in the application of Indigenous knowledge to national infrastructure projects and partnerships.


Scientific Journal Reviews

The NWMO regularly undergoes independent peer reviews when publishing technical research results in scientific journals and at conferences. On specific topics, we seek out peer reviews or request state-of-science reviews be prepared by leading experts.

Nous nous assurons que nos travaux reposent sur les meilleures connaissances scientifiques en collaborant avec des scientifiques et des experts de premier plan issus des universités, de l’industrie ou de groupes de recherche internationaux. Cela est notamment accompli par les examens de pairs, dans le cadre desquels nous demandons à des experts externes indépendants d’examiner notre travail. 

Groupe d’examen géoscientifique 

Le Groupe d’examen géoscientifique est composé de cinq spécialistes de renommée internationale du Canada, de la Suède, de la Suisse et de l’Australie. Ce groupe examine et analyse les approches, les méthodes, les données et les critères utilisés pour réaliser les évaluations géoscientifiques.

Groupe d’examen pour la sélection d’un site

Le groupe d’examen pour la sélection d’un site est composé de trois membres de renommée internationale issus de divers milieux professionnels. Ce groupe fournit des avis et des conseils indépendants sur l’approche, les méthodes et les critères qui seront utilisés par la SGDN pour établir un bilan définitif en vue de préparer la sélection d’un site en 2023. L’objectif de ce groupe est de s’assurer que le processus décisionnel est raisonnable, exhaustif, crédible et rigoureux.

Examen par les revues scientifiques

La SGDN soumet régulièrement nos travaux à des examens de pairs indépendants lors de la publication des résultats de nos recherches techniques dans des revues scientifiques et dans le cadre de congrès. Nous sollicitons ainsi des examens par les pairs ou des examens de l’état des connaissances scientifiques sur des sujets particuliers auprès d’experts de premier plan.