The NWMO established the Adaptive Phased Management Geoscientific Review Group (APM-GRG) to ensure that site evaluations are conducted in a consistent and traceable manner using best international practices. The group provides advice and guidance on the approach, methods and findings for the preliminary assessments being conducted in Step 3 of the site selection process.

The group also provides feedback on:

  • Findings related to the potential suitability of the communities;
  • Preliminary fieldwork programs that will be required to further assess and increase confidence in potential suitability of the communities; and
  • Findings related to the relative geoscientific suitability of the various communities participating in the site selection process.

Members of the APM-GRG

The APM-GRG is composed of five internationally recognized experts from Canada, Sweden, Switzerland, and Australia. They combine extensive multidisciplinary experience in areas relevant to the siting of deep geological repositories in both crystalline and sedimentary rock formations.
This is an image of the members of the APM-GRG.

APM-GRG members (from left to right): Dr. Michael Stephens; Dr. Richard Smith; Dr. Peter Kaiser (APM-GRG Chairman); Dr. Sandy (Alexander) Cruden; and Dr. Andreas Gautschi.

Dr. Peter Kaiser

Dr. Peter Kaiser, Chairman of the APM-GRG, is Professor Emeritus of Mining Engineering at Laurentian University, former Chair for Rock Engineering and Ground Control, former Director of the Rio Tinto Centre for Underground Mine Construction, and former Founding Director of the Centre for Excellence in Mining Innovation. His interests lie in geomechanics, underground excavation stability, mine design, mechanized excavation, and the applications of other emerging technologies that increase mining safety and productivity. Dr. Kaiser is a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineers and a Fellow of the Engineering Institute of Canada. He is the author of more than 350 technical and scientific publications.

Dr. Sandy (Alexander) Cruden

Dr. Sandy (Alexander) Cruden is a Professor and Head of the School of Earth, Atmosphere and Environment at Monash University (Australia). Dr. Cruden has more than 25 years of geoscience experience related to structural geology, analysis and characterization in both crystalline and sedimentary rock settings. Dr. Cruden completed a fault reactivation analysis and structural characterization of southwestern Ontario as part of site characterization activities for Ontario Power Generation's proposed Low- and Intermediate-Level Waste Deep Geologic Repository at the Bruce site.

Dr. Andreas Gautschi

Dr. Andreas Gautschi is Chief Geoscientific Advisor at the Swiss National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste. Dr. Gautschi has more than 30 years of geoscience experience related to the planning, co-ordination and implementation of site evaluation programs for deep geological repositories in both crystalline and sedimentary rocks. He co-ordinated successful geoscience activities that contributed to the selection of the Opalinus Clay formation as the preferred geologic setting for the long-term management of high-level waste in Switzerland. He also has a lectureship at ETH Zurich.

Dr. Richard Smith

Dr. Richard Smith is a Professor in the Department of Earth Sciences at Laurentian University, Industrial Research Chair of Exploration Geophysics; he has expertise in the application of geophysical methods generally and airborne methods specifically to investigate the geosphere at depth. Richard brings over 20 years of experience working in the exploration business. In early 2015, Dr. Smith was asked by the Geological Society of London and the UK Department of Energy and Climate Change to be a member of the National Geological Screening Independent Review Panel. This panel is reviewing and evaluating the national screening guidance that the Radioactive Waste Management Limited has developed and will apply in order to select regions that would be suitable for a deep geological repository.

Dr. Michael Stephens

Dr. Michael Stephens is a retired Senior State Geologist with the Geological Survey of Sweden in Uppsala. Dr. Stephens has been actively involved in the Swedish site evaluation process, including country-wide reconnaissance studies conducted in Sweden to identify potentially suitable regions for hosting a deep geological repository, geoscientific feasibility studies, and the detailed site characterization of the Forsmark site which was selected by SKB (the Swedish Nuclear Fuel and Waste Management Company) as the site for the deep geological repository for used nuclear fuel in Sweden.

La SGDN a mis sur pied le Groupe d’examen géoscientifique de la Gestion adaptative progressive (GEG-GAP) qui a pour mandat de veiller à ce que l’évaluation des sites soit faite de manière cohérente et documentée, d’après les pratiques reconnues internationalement. Ce groupe fournit des conseils concernant l’approche, les méthodes et les résultats des évaluations préliminaires réalisées dans le cadre de l’Étape 3 du processus de sélection d’un site.

Le groupe donne également son avis sur : 

  • les constats relatifs à l’aptitude potentielle des collectivités;

  • les programmes de travaux sur le terrain qui seront requis pour évaluer et valider plus avant l’aptitude potentielle des collectivités;

  • les constats liés à l’aptitude géoscientifique relative des diverses collectivités participant au processus de sélection d’un site.

Membres du GEG-GAP

Le GEG-GAP est composé de cinq experts du Canada, de la Suède, de la Suisse et de l’Australie de réputation internationale. Les membres du groupe possèdent entre eux une expérience multidisciplinaire touchant l’ensemble des domaines pertinents à l’établissement de dépôts géologiques en profondeur, tant en formations de roches cristallines qu’en formations de roches sédimentaires.

Ceci est une photo de membres du GEG-GAP

Membres du GEG-GAP (de gauche à droite) : Michael Stephens; Richard Smith; Peter Kaiser (président du GEG-GAP); Sandy (Alexander) Cruden; et Andreas Gautschi.

Peter Kaiser

Peter Kaiser, président du GEG-GAP, est professeur honoraire en génie minier à l’Université Laurentienne, ancien président du Département de la mécanique des roches et du contrôle des terrains, ancien directeur du Centre Rio Tinto pour la construction souterraine des mines et ancien directeur fondateur du Centre for Excellence in Mining Innovation. Il s’intéresse à la géomécanique, à la stabilité des excavations souterraines, à la conception des mines, à l’excavation mécanisée et aux applications d’autres technologies émergentes qui assurent la sûreté des mines et augmentent la productivité. M. Kaiser est membre de l’Académie canadienne du génie et de l’Institut canadien des ingénieurs. Il est l’auteur de plus de 350 publications techniques et scientifiques.

Sandy (Alexander) Cruden

Sandy (Alexander) Cruden est un professeur et le directeur du département de la terre, de l’atmosphère et de l’environnement à l’Université Monash (Australie). M. Cruden cumule plus de 25 ans d’expérience géoscientifique dans les domaines de la géologie structurale, l’analyse et la caractérisation des formations de roches cristallines et sédimentaires. Il a réalisé une analyse sur la réactivation des failles et une caractérisation structurale du sud-ouest de l’Ontario dans le cadre des activités de caractérisation pour le dépôt géologique en profondeur pour les déchets de faible et moyenne activité qu’Ontario Power Generation se propose de construire sur le site de Bruce.

Andreas Gautschi

Andreas Gautschi est conseiller principal en matière géoscientifique à la Société coopérative nationale suisse pour le stockage des déchets radioactifs. M. Gautschi possède plus de 30 ans d’expérience dans les domaines de la planification, de la coordination et de la mise en oeuvre des programmes d’évaluation de sites pour des dépôts géologiques en profondeur en roche cristalline et en roche sédimentaire. Il a coordonné avec succès des activités géoscientifiques qui ont contribué au choix de la formation d’argile à Opalinus comme milieu géologique de prédilection pour la gestion à long terme des déchets hautement radioactifs en Suisse. Il possède également un poste de chargé de cours à ETH Zurich.

Richard Smith

Richard Smith est professeur au Département des sciences de la Terre de l’Université Laurentienne, titulaire de la Chaire de recherche industrielle en géophysique d’exploration; il possède une expertise dans l’application des méthodes géophysiques en général et plus particulièrement dans les méthodes aéroportées servant à examiner la géosphère en profondeur. M. Smith cumule plus de 20 ans d’expérience dans le milieu de l’exploration commerciale. Au début de 2015, il a été invité par la Geological Society of London et le ministère britannique de l’Énergie et des Changements climatiques à faire partie du Comité d’examen indépendant de la Consultation nationale sur le stockage géologique. Ce comité examine et évalue les lignes directrices que la société britannique Radioactive Waste Management Limited a élaborées et appliquera pour choisir les secteurs aptes à accueillir un dépôt géologique en profondeur.

Michael Stephens

Michael Stephens est antérieurement géologue principal à la Commission géologique de Suède en Uppsala. M. Stephens participe activement au processus suédois d’évaluation des sites, y compris aux études de reconnaissance réalisées à l’échelle nationale en Suède pour identifier des régions potentiellement propices pour établir un dépôt géologique en profondeur, aux études géoscientifiques de faisabilité et à la caractérisation détaillée du site de Forsmark, qui a été choisi par SKB (la société de gestion du combustible et des déchets nucléaires de Suède) comme site pour le dépôt géologique en profondeur suédois de combustible nucléaire irradié.