The Nuclear Waste Management Organization was created by Canada's major owners of used nuclear fuel to meet their obligations under the Nuclear Fuel Waste Act. The organization is required to conduct a comprehensive study of approaches for the long-term management of used nuclear fuel and to recommend a preferred approach to the Government of Canada by November, 2005. It will then implement the approach chosen by the Government. The NWMO must study three methods: deep geological disposal; storage at nuclear reactor sites; and centralized storage, either above or below ground. Other methods may also be considered. The NWMO has committed to "develop collaboratively with Canadians a management approach that is socially acceptable, technically sound, environmentally responsible, and economically feasible."

Study Process

The NWMO has adopted an iterative study process, undertaken in phases to allow information, analyses and thinking to be considered in a staged manner. Citizens are involved not only in developing the NWMO recommendation, but in shaping the work plan as well.

The need to conduct research in a step-wise fashion was identified through an early series of informal Conversations about Expectations with a crosssection of interested Canadians who were asked about their interests and how they wanted to be consulted. As a result, a broad range of individuals and communities of interest are being engaged in an open and transparent dialogue to build the analytical framework which will be used to assess various management approaches and to develop the NWMO recommendations. The NWMO is also collaborating with aboriginal organizations to support dialogue processes designed and implemented by them.

The NWMO began Exploring the Fundamental Issues in the second phase of its work. This period involved a variety of activities including the commissioning of background and research papers, and a series of workshops to explore key concepts. The work was summarized in the first discussion document, Asking the Right Questions?, which provided the foundation for the NWMO study.The document included a description of the challenge facing Canada, a preliminary discussion of potential methods for the long-term management of used fuel, and ten key questions proposed to serve as the basis for building an analytical framework that could be used to compare the approaches. Asking the Right Questions? established a baseline of information for in-depth dialogue and deliberations. As Canadians were engaged on the first discussion document, the NWMO undertook work to further define the management approaches, and to determine how to use the analytical framework in a comparative assessment of the options. The findings from engagement and dialogue activities continually fed into the work of the NWMO.

An Evaluation of the Management Approaches commenced with the third phase of the study. In this period, the refined analytical framework was applied to compare the revised management approach descriptions. This preliminary assessment was to help reveal the relative strengths of the approaches, assist in identifying the risks, costs and benefits of each, and allow for a description of the social, economic and ethical considerations associated with them. Two significant documents are published in phase three.

A second discussion document, Understanding the Choices expands on what the proposed management approaches might look like and discusses how the analytical framework to assess them has evolved. It also presents the initial comparative assessment of the proposed approaches for discussion. An intensive period of dialogue and engagement following publi-cation of the document will help ensure that the NWMO fully considers and addresses societal expectations. The comparative assessment of the management approaches will be refined based on feedback and work will then begin to determine a recommended approach.

Phase three will culminate with publication of a third milestone document, Choosing the Way Forward. This draft study report will describe the final NWMO recommendations in draft form. The document will be offered for in-depth public review and comment as the NWMO prepares its formal study and recommendations for submission to the Minister of Natural Resources Canada.

The last stage of work, Finalizing the Study Report, will begin early in 2005. The final study report will be presented to the government by November 15, 2005. It will contain the NWMO recommendations and, as required by the Act, will include:

  • technical descriptions and economic regions for implementation for each management approach considered
  • a comparison of the benefits, risks and costs of the approaches considered as well as ethical, social and economic considerations
  • funding requirements and an implementation plan for each management approach
  • comments of the Advisory Council on the management approaches and,
  • a summary of comments received by NWMO as a result of consultations on each of the approaches with the general public and aboriginal peoples

NWMO Approach

The NWMO understands that in order for Canadians to have confidence in any approach for the long-term management of used nuclear fuel, the study must fundamentally reflect and respond to their values. The challenge is to develop and apply, as much as possible, a societally-directed framework to guide both the development and also the assessment of the management options and ultimate recommendations to government

As the NWMO engages citizens, interested groups and experts through all stages of its study process, their insights and perspectives help shape the study at a fundamental level. Through its milestone discussion documents, the NWMO shares its work and its thinking at each stage for review and comment by all interested Canadians. For additional information visit our website:

Context

La Société de gestion des déchets nucléaires (SGDN) a été créée par les principales sociétés canadiennes propriétaires de combustible nucléaire irradié pour s’acquitter des obligations qui leur ont été imposées par la Loi sur les déchets de combustible nucléaire. La SGDN est tenue d’étudier de manière approfondie différentes options de gestion à long terme du combustible nucléaire irradié et de recommander une solution parmi celles-ci au gouvernement canadien avant le mois de novembre 2005. Elle sera alors responsable de la mise en œuvre de la solution choisie par le gouvernement. La SGDN doit étudier trois méthodes : l’enfouissement en couche géologique profonde, l’entreposage sur les sites des centrales nucléaires et l’entreposage centralisé, en surface ou sous terre. D’autres méthodes peuvent aussi être examinées. La SGDN s’est engagée à « élaborer en concertation avec les Canadiens une solution de gestion qui soit socialement acceptable, techniquement sûre, écologiquement responsable et économiquement viable ».

Le processus adopté

La SGDN a adopté un processus d’étude itératif, appliqué en phases, de façon à permettre à l’information, aux analyses et à la réflexion de se dérouler par étapes. Les citoyens participeront non seulement à l’élaboration de la recommandation de la SGDN, mais également à la conception du plan de travail.

La nécessité de mener la recherche par étapes a été définie par le biais d’une série de Conversations sur les attentes tenues auprès d’un groupe représentatif de Canadiens intéressés qui ont été interrogés sur leurs intérêts et sur la façon dont ils souhaitaient être consultés. En conséquence, un large éventail de particuliers et de groupes d’intérêts est actuellement engagé dans un dialogue ouvert et transparent visant à mettre au point un cadre d’analyse qui sera utilisé pour évaluer diverses options de gestion et formuler les recommandations que fera la SGDN. Celle-ci aide aussi les organisations autochtones à mettre au point et à mettre en œuvre des processus de dialogue.

La SGDN a commencé à Explorer les enjeux fondamentaux dans la seconde phase de ses travaux. Au cours de cette période, plusieurs initiatives ont été prises, dont la commande de documentation et d’études et une série d’ateliers destinés à explorer des notions fondamentales. Ces travaux sont résumés dans le premier document de discussion Posons-nous les bonnes questions?, qui a servi de fondement à l’étude de la SGDN. Ce document comprenait une description du défi posé, un examen préliminaire des options de gestion à long terme du combustible nucléaire irradié, ainsi que dix questions fondamentales servant à définir un cadre d’analyse qui servirait à comparer les options envisagées. Posons-nous les bonnes questions?établissait une référence pour encadrer les dialogues et les délibérations en profondeur. Alors que les Canadiens participaient à l’élaboration du premier document de discussion, la SGDN a entrepris des travaux pour préciser davantage les options de gestion et pour déterminer comment utiliser le cadre d’analyse dans l’évaluation de ces options de gestion. Les résultats des activités d’engagement et de dialogue ont continuellement alimenté les travaux de la SGDN.

L’évaluation des options de gestion a commencé avec la troisième phase de l’étude. Au cours de cette période, le cadre d’analyse mis au point a été utilisé pour comparer les options de gestion qui avaient été davantage précisées. Cette évaluation préliminaire servait à cerner les avantages et les inconvénients des différentes options, à comparer les risques, coûts et avantages économiques et à décrire les aspects sociaux, économiques et éthiques associés à ces options. Deux importants documents ont été publiés lors de cette troisième phase.

Le deuxième document de discussion, Les options et leurs implications, expose en détail les options de gestion et explique comment le cadre d’analyse a évolué. Il présente également l’évaluation comparative initiale des options proposées à des fins de discussion future. Une période intensive de dialogue et de mobilisation suivra la publication du document afin d’aider la SGDN à s’assurer qu’elle répond entièrement aux attentes sociétales. L’évaluation comparative des options de gestion sera ajustée en fonction des commentaires reçus et les travaux visant à formuler une recommandation seront ensuite entrepris.

La troisième phase s’achèvera par la publication d’un troisième document repère, Choisir une voie pour l’avenir. Ce rapport d’étude servira d’ébauche à la recommandation finale de la SGDN. Il sera rendu public pour être examiné et commenté avant que la SGDN prépare son Rapport d’étude et les recommandations qu’elle présentera au ministre des Ressources naturelles du Canada.

La dernière phase des travaux, qui sera consacrée à la préparation duRapport d’étude final, débutera en 2005. Ce rapport sera présenté au gouvernement avant le 15 novembre 2005. Il contiendra les recommandations de la SGDN et, conformément à la Loi, comprendra :

  • les descriptions techniques et les régions économiques envisagées pour la mise en œuvre de chaque option de gestion étudiée;
  • une comparaison des avantages, des risques et des coûts, ainsi que des considérations sociales, économiques et éthiques, associés à chaque option;
  • les besoins de financement et un plan de mise en œuvre pour chaque option de gestion;
  • les commentaires du Conseil consultatif sur les options de gestion;
  • un condensé des commentaires reçus par la SGDN sur les options étudiées par le biais du processus de consultation du grand public et des peuples autochtones.

Démarche de la SGDN

La SGDN estime que l’étude doit refléter de manière fondamentale les valeurs des Canadiens, pour que ceux-ci accordent leur confiance à la recommandation proposée pour la gestion à long terme du combustible nucléaire irradié. Il s’agit d’abord et avant tout de mettre au point et d’appliquer, dans la mesure du possible, un cadre dicté par les valeurs sociétales pour guider à la fois la conception et l’évaluation des options de gestion, ainsi que les recommandations définitives présentées au gouvernement.

Grâce aux efforts de la SGDN visant à engager les citoyens, les groupes intéressés et les experts à toutes les étapes du processus d’étude, leurs idées et points de vue influenceront l’étude au niveau le plus fondamental. Par le biais de ses documents repères, la SGDN rend public ses travaux et sa compréhension des enjeux à chaque tape du processus afin que les Canadiens intéressés puissent en prendre connaissance et apporter leurs commentaires. Pour plus d’information, veuillez consulter notre site Web au www.sgdn.ca.