Aboriginal peoples have a special relationship with the natural environment and unique stewardship responsibilities that come with this relationship. The accompanying knowledge brings special understanding to the site selection process, including factors that should be considered and processes that should be used. This includes the assessment of both safety and community well-being.

Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge includes important knowledge about the land and ecology stemming from long contact with the land. It also includes knowledge about developing and maintaining effective and meaningful relationships between generations and within and between communities.

Traditional Knowledge systems assume that people are part of the land, not that they own the land. This knowledge emphasizes the interrelationships between components of the environment.

Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge provides rules for:

  • Protecting the land while using it
  • Clarifying and enhancing relationships among users
  • Assisting in the development of technologies to meet the subsistence, health, trade, and ritual needs of local people
  • Helping to create a world view that incorporates and makes sense of all these in the context of a long-term, holistic perspective in decision-making

Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge requires that appropriate consideration and respect must be given to factors such as:

  • Spiritual and physical aspects of the land, people, wildlife, and their habitat
  • The relationships between various aspects of the environment, including humans
  • The Aboriginal sense of responsibility and stewardship
  • The health, trade and spiritual needs of people
  • Aspects of traditional community life, such as culturally oriented activities, the wide range of volunteer activities, recreational activities, housework, and subsistence activities
  • The impact of our actions seven generations or more in the future

Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge is a complex and sophisticated system of knowledge drawing on centuries of wisdom and experience. It constantly grows and changes with new information. The wisdom derived from this philosophy can be used when planning for the future. For example, the "seven generation" teachings require decision-makers to consider the impact of their choices on future generations.

We will look to Aboriginal communities in the area surrounding interested communities to work together in applying Traditional Knowledge to the site selection process. We want to ensure ongoing, active, and meaningful collaboration, and are committed to building sustainable, long-term relationships with Aboriginal communities. We will continue to engage Aboriginal peoples throughout all aspects of Canada's plan. This collaboration will be informed by the Council of Elders, an advisory body to NWMO management.

Video: Traditional Knowledge and Science

Aboriginal and western world views and knowledge systems are each unique. Interweaving of these two world views can bring opportunities to strengthen our work as we learn from one another.

Les peuples autochtones ont tissé un rapport privilégié avec l’environnement naturel et certaines responsabilités uniques d’intendance découlent de ce rapport. Les connaissances qu’ils en ont tirées apportent un éclairage particulier au processus de sélection d’un site, notamment en ce qui a trait aux facteurs qui doivent être pris en compte et aux processus qui doivent être utilisés. Cela inclut l’évaluation de la sûreté et du bien-être de la collectivité.

Le savoir traditionnel autochtone comprend de précieuses connaissances sur le territoire et l’écologie, lesquelles ont été acquises au fil d’un contact de longue date avec le territoire. Il comprend également des connaissances sur l’édification et le maintien de rapports fructueux et solides entre les générations et entre les collectivités.

Selon les systèmes de savoir traditionnel, les gens font partie intégrante du territoire, ils ne le possèdent pas. Ces systèmes mettent en relief les relations qui existent entre tous les éléments de l’environnement.

Le savoir traditionnel autochtone établit des règles qui ont pour but :

  • de protéger le territoire lors de son utilisation
  • de clarifier et d’améliorer les relations entre les utilisateurs
  • d’aider à la mise au point de technologies qui répondent aux besoins des populations locales en matière de subsistance, de santé, de commerce et de rituels
  • de contribuer à créer une vision du monde qui intègre tout ce qui précède et lui donne sens, dans une perspective holistique à long terme du processus décisionnel

Le savoir traditionnel autochtone exige qu’une considération et un respect adéquats soient accordés à des facteurs tels que :

  • les aspects spirituels et physiques du territoire, de la population, de la faune et de leur habitat
  • les rapports entre divers aspects de l’environnement, y compris les humains
  • le sens des responsabilités et d’intendance des Autochtones
  • la santé, le commerce et les besoins spirituels des gens
  • les aspects reliés à la vie communautaire, tels que les activités d’ordre culturel, le large éventail d’activités bénévoles, les activités récréatives, les travaux domestiques et les activités de subsistance
  • les répercussions de nos actions sur les sept prochaines générations, voire davantage

Le savoir traditionnel autochtone est un système de connaissance complexe et sophistiqué qui s’appuie sur des siècles de sagesse et d’expérience. Il s’élargit et évolue constamment en se nourrissant de nouvelles informations. La sagesse qui découle de cette philosophie peut servir à planifier l’avenir. Par exemple, selon le principe des « sept générations », les décideurs doivent penser aux répercussions qu’auront leurs décisions sur les générations futures.

Nous collaborerons avec les collectivités autochtones de la région entourant les collectivités intéressées à trouver des façons d’intégrer le savoir traditionnel au processus de sélection d’un site. Nous tenons à une collaboration soutenue, active et tangible et sommes déterminés à nouer des relations viables et durables avec les collectivités autochtones. Nous continuerons de faire participer les peuples autochtones sur tous les aspects du plan canadien. Cette collaboration sera éclairée par le Conseil des aînés, un organe consultatif à la direction de la SGDN.

Vidéo: Le savoir traditionnel autochtone et la science (en anglais)

Les visions du monde et systèmes de connaissances des Autochtones et du monde occidental sont distincts. L'interaction entre ces deux visions peut créer des occasions de renforcer nos travaux par l'acquisition mutuelle de connaissances.