Board of Directors Appoints New Chair

This is a photograph of Wayne Robbins

The NWMO Board of Directors has appointed a new Chair of the Board – Wayne Robbins.

A member of the NWMO’s Board of Directors since 2014 and Vice-Chair since 2015, Mr. Robbins is the retired Chief Nuclear Officer at Ontario Power Generation (OPG). He was responsible for all OPG’s nuclear operations, engineering, nuclear waste management, strategic planning, and plant performance.

“The NWMO team has made outstanding progress in implementing its community-driven site selection process, and I have every confidence this momentum will continue,” said Mr. Robbins. “I am pleased to take on this new responsibility and feel privileged to be part of such important work.”

Mr. Robbins served as Senior Vice-President of the Darlington Nuclear Generating Station from 2006 to 2009. He was recognized with OPG’s “Power Within Leader of the Year” award in 2008 and received the Ontario Energy Association leadership award in 2009.

He has held several other senior positions at OPG and is also past Chairman of the Canadian Nuclear Association Board.

Mr. Robbins holds a B.Sc. in Civil Engineering from Queen’s University and is a member of the Professional Engineers of Ontario. He has also completed the Ivey Executive Program and Rotman’s Directors Education Program.

Mr. Robbins takes over from Pierre Charlebois, who served as Chair of the Board beginning in 2014. In 2016, Mr. Charlebois reached the end of his term on the Board as both member and Chair.