The implementation of Adaptive Phased Management (APM) is funded by the major owners of used nuclear fuel in Canada. They are Ontario Power Generation, NB Power, Hydro-Québec, and Atomic Energy of Canada Limited. The Nuclear Fuel Waste Act requires these companies to establish independently managed trust funds. The companies make annual deposits to these funds; this will ensure the money needed is available by the time construction begins.

Effectively, this means it is consumers benefiting from the electricity who will, over time, fund the long-term management of the waste that is generated.

Funding Formula

The owners of used nuclear fuel in Canada make annual deposits to trust funds at levels set by the NWMO. In April 2009, the Honourable Lisa Raitt, then Minister of Natural Resources, approved a funding formula for these deposits.