Surface facilities at the repository site will receive, inspect and repackage used nuclear fuel bundles for transfer to the repository's main shaft for placement underground. There are also facilities to support the ongoing operation of the site, including administration, quality, security, services, and sealing material processing activities.

Layout of Surface Facilities for the Deep Geological Repository

This diagram shows the layout of Adaptive Phased Management surface facilities for a deep geological repository, all of which are described on this page.

Ensuring Safety and Security

To ensure safety and security, the following facilities will be developed on the site where the deep geological repository is located.

  • Security Monitoring Stations
  • Fire Hall
  • Quality Control Offices
  • Laboratories
  • Active Waste Handling
  • Storm Water Management Ponds
  • Process Water Management Ponds
  • Two levels of fences (around the site perimeter and around the Protected Area)

Used Fuel Packaging Plant

The used fuel packaging plant will include all necessary areas and equipment for:

  • Receiving used fuel transportation packages from interim storage sites
  • Receiving empty used fuel containers
  • Loading used fuel into repository containers
  • Sealing, inspecting, and dispatching filled containers for underground transfer and placement in the repository

The used fuel container and supporting components will be manufactured at a separate container manufacturing plant(s). This plant could be located at the site or in the surrounding region depending on interest.

A conceptual layout of a used fuel packaging plant has been developed for planning and costing purposes. It consists of a reinforced concrete structure measuring about 125 metres by 65 metres. It can transfer about 120,000 used fuel bundles per year.

Sealing Material Compaction Plant and Concrete Batch Plant

The sealing material compaction plant and the concrete batch plant will provide materials for clay-based and cement-based barriers in the repository. These barriers will be used to backfill and seal excavation openings, and inhibit groundwater movement, microbial activity, and movement of radionuclides.

Shafts and Hoists

The reference design for the repository includes three shafts with hoists. They enable the safe transfer of used fuel containers, rock, materials, equipment, and personnel between surface facilities and the repository.

The main shaft conveys used fuel containers within a shielded transfer cask. The service shaft conveys personnel, equipment, waste rock, and sealing materials. The ventilation shaft receives the majority of the repository exhaust and is equipped with a hoist for emergency exit for personnel.

Excavated Rock Management Area

A large amount of rock will be excavated to create the repository. The excavated rock management area is expected to require a surface area of about 700 metres by 700 metres, with a height between 3 metres and 8 metres. A portion of the excavated rock may be used in backfilling and sealing operations. The remaining rock may have a public or commercial use as aggregate for construction.

The excavated rock management area is currently assumed to be located off-site. Its size and location will be determined in collaboration with the host community and surrounding area.

Les installations de surface sur le site du dépôt serviront à recevoir, à inspecter et à remballer les grappes de combustible nucléaire irradié avant de les acheminer sous terre via le puits principal du dépôt. Des installations serviront aussi à soutenir l’exploitation du site, notamment les activités liées à l’administration, à la surveillance de la qualité, à la sécurité, aux services et au traitement des matériaux de scellement.

Disposition des installations de surface sur le site du dépôt géologique en profondeur


Ce diagramme présente l’aménagement des installations de surface associées au dépôt géologique en profondeur de la Gestion adaptative progressive. Ces installations sont décrites sur cette page Web.

Veiller à la sûreté et à la sécurité

Pour garantir la sûreté et la sécurité, les installations suivantes seront construites sur le site où le dépôt géologique en profondeur sera établi.

  • Poste de surveillance de la sécurité
  • Poste d’incendie
  • Bureaux du contrôle de la qualité
  • Laboratoires
  • Manutention des déchets radioactifs
  • Bassins de gestion des eaux de pluie
  • Bassins de gestion des eaux de procédés
  • Deux niveaux de clôtures (autour du périmètre du site et autour de la zone protégée

Centre d’emballage du combustible irradié

Le centre d’emballage du combustible irradié comprendra tous les espaces et les équipements nécessaires pour :

  • Recevoir les colis de transport du combustible irradié acheminés depuis les sites provisoires d’entreposage
  • Recevoir les conteneurs vides de combustible irradié
  • Charger le combustible irradié dans les conteneurs de stockage
  • Sceller, inspecter et faire la répartition des conteneurs pleins pour le transfert sous terre et le stockage dans le dépôt

Les conteneurs de combustible irradié et les composants de soutien seront fabriqués dans une ou des usines de production de conteneurs distinctes. Cette usine ou ces usines pourraient être situées sur le site ou dans la région environnante, selon l’intérêt manifesté.

Un aménagement théorique du centre d’emballage du combustible irradié a été défini à des fins de planification et d’estimation de coûts. Le centre serait constitué d’une structure de béton armé mesurant approximativement 125 metres par 65 mètres. Il pourrait transférer approximativement 120 000 grappes de combustible irradié par année. 

Usine de compactage des matériaux de scellement et usine de préparation du béton

L’usine de compactage des matériaux de scellement et l’usine de préparation du béton fourniront les matériaux composant les barrières ouvragées à base d’argile ou de ciment qui seront utilisées pour remblayer et sceller les ouvertures excavées afin d’inhiber le mouvement des eaux souterraines, l’activité microbienne et le mouvement des radionucléides.

Puits et appareils de levage

Le concept de référence du dépôt comprend trois puits et appareils de levage. Ils serviront au transfert sûr des conteneurs de combustible irradié, de la roche, des matériaux, des équipements et des travailleurs entre les installations de surface et le dépôt.

Le puits principal servira à acheminer les conteneurs de combustible irradié à l’intérieur de châteaux de transfert blindés. Le puits de service servira à acheminer le personnel, l’équipement, la roche excavée et les matériaux de scellement. Le puits de ventilation sera le principal dispositif d’évacuation de l’air du dépôt et sera muni d’un appareil permettant d’évacuer le personnel en cas d’urgence. 

Aire de gestion de la roche excavée

Une grande quantité de roche sera excavée pour construire le dépôt. L’aire de gestion de la roche excavée devrait avoir une empreinte en surface d’approximativement 700 mètres par 700 mètres et atteindre une hauteur de 3 mètres à 8 mètres. Une partie de la roche excavée pourrait être utilisée pour les opérations de remblayage et de scellement. La partie restante pourrait trouver une utilité publique ou commerciale comme granulat de construction.

Selon les hypothèses actuelles, l’aire de gestion de la roche excavée serait située hors site. Sa taille et son emplacement exacts seront déterminés en collaboration avec la collectivité hôte et le secteur environnant.