The NWMO Board of Directors is responsible for oversight of our organization and for taking a leadership role in the development of our strategic direction. Its members have the skills and experience needed to oversee the managerial, financial and operational activities associated with the long-term management of used nuclear fuel.
This is a photo of NWMO Board Chairman Wayne Robbins

Wayne Robbins

  • Chair

Wayne Robbins is the retired Chief Nuclear Officer at Ontario Power Generation (OPG). He was responsible for all OPG’s nuclear operations, engineering, nuclear waste management, strategic planning, and plant performance. Mr. Robbins served as Senior Vice-President of the Darlington Nuclear Generating Station from 2006 to 2009. He was recognized with OPG’s "Power Within Leader of the Year" award in 2008 and received the Ontario Energy Association leadership award in 2009. He has held several other senior positions at OPG and is also past Chairman of the Canadian Nuclear Association Board. Mr. Robbins holds a B.Sc. in Civil Engineering from Queen’s University and is a member of the Professional Engineers of Ontario. He has also completed the Ivey Executive Program and Rotman’s Directors Education Program.

This is a photo of NWMO President and CEO Laurie Swami

Laurie Swami

  • President and CEO
  • Nuclear Waste Management Organization

Laurie Swami is the President and CEO of the NWMO. She was appointed to the role in 2016 and is responsible for implementing Canada’s plan for the long-term management of used nuclear fuel. Ms. Swami previously served as Senior Vice-President of Decommissioning and Nuclear Waste Management at Ontario Power Generation (OPG). Her responsibilities included overseeing operation of OPG’s nuclear waste management facilities, as well as implementing OPG’s low- and intermediate-level nuclear waste deep geologic repository. She began her career at OPG in 1986 and held various roles with increasing responsibility in the Nuclear Division. She holds a Bachelor of Science in Engineering Chemistry from Queen’s University and a Master of Business Administration from the Schulich School of Business.

This is a photo of NWMO Board Member Mark Elliott

Mark Elliott

Mark Elliott is the retired Chief Nuclear Engineer at Ontario Power Generation (OPG). He was responsible for all engineering for the Pickering and Darlington nuclear stations and for OPG’s nuclear waste facilities. In this role, Mr. Elliott led the life extension of the Pickering station. He served as Senior Vice-President of the Pickering A nuclear generating station from 2007 to 2010, while two of the four units were being placed in long-term safe storage. He has held several other senior positions at OPG, including Senior Vice-President, Inspection and Maintenance. Mr. Elliott holds a Bachelor of Engineering in Engineering Physics from McMaster University and is a member of the Professional Engineers of Ontario. He has completed the Queen’s University Executive Program and the Advanced Management Program at Harvard Business School.

This is a photo of NWMO Board Member Lesley Gallinger

Lesley Gallinger

Lesley Gallinger is the President and CEO of Elexicon Energy Inc., the fourth largest municipally owned electricity distribution company in Ontario. Most recently, Ms. Gallinger served as Vice-President, and Chief Strategy and Financial Officer of the Electrical Safety Authority, where she led the development of a sustainable resource model for a provincial scope safety organization with achievements in enterprise risk management, revitalization projects and improved investment performance. Ms. Gallinger previously served as Vice-President, Corporate and Regulatory Affairs, and Chief Financial Officer at the Oakville Hydro Corporation, and prior to that, in various financial management roles. Ms. Gallinger has served on the Audit and Finance Committees for several boards and chairs the Pension committee for one. She holds a Master of Business Administration from the Schulich School of Business, is a Chartered Professional Accountant (CMA) and a Certified Public Accountant (Illinois), and has completed the Chartered Director and Audit Committee Certified program at the DeGroote School of Business, McMaster University.

This is a photo of NWMO Board Member Michael G. Hare.

Michael G. Hare

Michael G. Hare is the Deputy Chief Nuclear Officer at NB Power. With more than 27 years of experience at NB Power, Mr. Hare is a leader with a background in engineering and operations with a strong focus on safety. Mr. Hare graduated from the University of New Brunswick in 1987 with a Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering. He joined NB Power in the Nuclear Division in 1992 and worked in the Engineering Technical Unit until 1999 when he was accepted into the Certification Training Program. Mr. Hare obtained both a Control Room Operator and then a Shift Supervisor Certification. He joined the Refurbishment Team and led the station’s return-to-service from refurbishment as the Restart/Commissioning Manager. Upon successful restart of Point Lepreau Nuclear Generating Station (PLNGS), Mr. Hare was seconded to the World Association of Nuclear Operators (WANO) before filling the role of Operations Manager at the station. He most recently served as the PLNGS Station Director.

This is a photo of NWMO Board Member Ronald L. Jamieson

Ronald L. Jamieson

Ronald L. Jamieson is a former member of the Board of Directors of the Ontario Power Authority. Prior to his retirement in late 2005, he served as Senior Vice-President of Aboriginal Banking at BMO Financial Group. Mr. Jamieson has held several senior executive positions in the financial services industry. Throughout his career, he has also been active in economic development initiatives for Aboriginal communities across Canada. Mr. Jamieson also served as Chairman, President and CEO of Ontario Energy Corporation, whose mandate was to invest or participate in energy projects throughout Canada. He is also Chairman of the Canadian Council for Aboriginal Business and was recently named President of First Canadian Property Investments Ltd. In 2014, Mr. Jamieson was awarded the Order of Ontario and the Order of Canada, as well as receiving an honorary doctoral degree from Nipissing University.

This is a photo of NWMO Board Member Josée Pilon

Josée Pilon

Josée Pilon is a Master of Business Administration graduate of Laval University. She was a member of the steering committee on the evaluation project for the rehabilitation of Gentilly-2. As a special projects manager, she is responsible for evaluating business opportunities for new sources of energy from the private sector, including wind power, biomass and hydroelectric. She is also involved on the financial impact evaluation of new hydroelectric projects on municipalities. Prior to her current position, she held numerous business development positions in international projects.

This is a photo of NWMO Board Member Beth Summers.

Beth Summers

Beth Summers is the Executive Vice-President and Chief Financial Officer at Superior Plus, where she provides financial leadership and support to operational units and support services groups. Previously, she served as Senior Vice-President and Chief Financial Officer at Ontario Power Generation (OPG), where she had overall accountability for financial strategy, controllership, accounting, reporting, business planning, investment planning, taxation, treasury, and pension and nuclear fund management. Prior to joining OPG, Ms. Summers was the Chief Financial Officer of Just Energy Group Inc. Ms. Summers was previously at Hydro One, where she held positions of increasing financial responsibility, including Chief Financial Officer. Ms. Summers began her career with Ernst & Young in the audit practice area and is a Chartered Professional Accountant (FCPA, FCA). Ms. Summers obtained a Bachelor of Business Administration from Wilfrid Laurier University.

Board of Directors: Meeting Minutes – 2018 

Minutes are prepared after each meeting of the Board of Directors. At the request of the Board, these minutes are published.

Board of Directors: Meeting Minutes – 2017

Minutes are prepared after each meeting of the Board of Directors. At the request of the Board, these minutes are published.

Board of Directors: Meeting Minutes – 2016 

Minutes are prepared after each meeting of the Board of Directors. At the request of the Board, these minutes are published.

Board of Directors: Meeting Minutes – 2015

Minutes are prepared after each meeting of the Board of Directors. At the request of the Board, these minutes are published.

Board of Directors: Meeting Minutes – 2014

Minutes are prepared after each meeting of the Board of Directors. At the request of the Board, these minutes are published.

Board of Directors: Meeting Minutes – 2013

Minutes are prepared after each meeting of the Board of Directors. At the request of the Board, these minutes are published.

Board of Directors: Meeting Minutes – 2012

Minutes are prepared after each meeting of the Board of Directors. At the request of the Board, these minutes are published.

Board of Directors: Meeting Minutes – 2011

Minutes are prepared after each meeting of the Board of Directors. At the request of the Board, these minutes are published.

Board of Directors: Meeting Minutes – 2010

Minutes are prepared after each meeting of the Board of Directors. At the request of the Board, these minutes are published.

Board of Directors: Meeting Minutes – 2009

Minutes are prepared after each meeting of the Board of Directors. At the request of the Board, these minutes are published.

Board of Directors: Meeting Minutes – 2008

Minutes are prepared after each meeting of the Board of Directors. At the request of the Board, these minutes are published.

Board of Directors: Meeting Minutes – 2007

Minutes are prepared after each meeting of the Board of Directors. At the request of the Board, these minutes are published.

Board of Directors: Meeting Minutes – 2006

Minutes are prepared after each meeting of the Board of Directors. At the request of the Board, these minutes are published.

Board of Directors: Meeting Minutes – 2005

Minutes are prepared after each meeting of the Board of Directors. At the request of the Board, these minutes are published.

Board of Directors: Meeting Minutes – 2004

Minutes are prepared after each meeting of the Board of Directors. At the request of the Board, these minutes are published.

Board of Directors: Meeting Minutes – 2003

Minutes are prepared after each meeting of the Board of Directors. At the request of the Board, these minutes are published.

Board of Directors: Meeting Minutes – 2002

Minutes are prepared after each meeting of the Board of Directors. At the request of the Board, these minutes are published.

Le Conseil d’administration de la SGDN est chargé de surveiller la Société et d’assumer un rôle de direction dans l’élaboration de nos orientations stratégiques. Ses membres ont les compétences et l’expérience voulues pour superviser les activités de gestion, financières et opérationnelles associées à la gestion à long terme du combustible nucléaire irradié.

Cette photo figure Wayne Robbins, président du Conseil d

Wayne Robbins

  • Président du Conseil d'administration

Wayne Robbins est directeur retraité de la Division nucléaire d’Ontario Power Generation (OPG), responsable de l’ensemble des activités, de l’ingénierie, de la gestion des déchets, de la planification stratégique et du rendement des centrales nucléaires d’OPG. M. Robbins a été vice-président principal de la Centrale nucléaire de Darlington de 2006 à 2009. Il a reçu en 2008 le prix « Power Within Leader » de l’année d’OPG et en 2009 le prix du leadership de l’Association de l’énergie de l’Ontario. Il a occupé plusieurs autres postes de responsabilité à OPG et a été président du Conseil d’administration de l’Association nucléaire canadienne. M. Robbins est titulaire d’un baccalauréat ès sciences en génie civil de l’Université Queen’s et est membre de l’Ordre des ingénieurs de l’Ontario. Il a de plus complété le programme Ivey de perfectionnement des cadres et le programme Rotman’s de formation des directeurs. 

Cette photo figure Laurie Swami, présidente et chef de la direction de la SGDN.

Laurie Swami

  • Présidente et chef de la direction
  • Société de gestion des déchets nucléaires

Laurie Swami est la présidente et chef de la direction de la SGDN. Elle a été nommé à ce role en 2016 et est responsable de la mise en oeuvre du plan canadien pour la gestion à long terme du combustible nucléaire irradié. Mme Swami a été vice-présidente principale, programmes de déclassement et de gestion des déchets nucléaires à Ontario Power Generation (OPG). Elle avait notamment comme responsabilités de superviser l’exploitation des installations de gestion de déchets nucléaires et la mise en oeuvre du dépôt géologique en profondeur pour déchets de faible et moyenne activité d’OPG. Elle a entrepris sa carrière à OPG en 1986 et a assumé diverses fonctions de responsabilité croissante au sein de la division nucléaire. Elle est titulaire d’un baccalauréat ès sciences en génie chimique de l’Université Queen’s et d’une maîtrise en administration des affaires de la Schulich School of Business.

Cette photo figure Mark Elliott, membre du Conseil d

Mark Elliott

Mark Elliott est actuellement à la retraite comme ingénieur nucléaire en chef à Ontario Power Generation (OPG). Il était responsable de toute l’ingénierie des centrales nucléaires de Pickering et de Darlington ainsi que des installations de gestion des déchets nucléaires d’OPG. À ce titre, M. Elliott a dirigé le projet de prolongement de la vie de la centrale de Pickering. Il a été vice-président principal de la centrale nucléaire Pickering A de 2007 à 2010, alors qu’on procédait à la mise en état de stockage à long terme sûr de deux de ses quatre tranches. Il a occupé plusieurs autres postes de direction à OPG, dont celui de vice-président principal de l’inspection et de la maintenance. M. Elliott est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en génie physique de l’Université McMaster et est membre de l’Ordre des ingénieurs de l’Ontario. Il a de plus réussi le programme de perfectionnement des cadres de l’Université Queen’s et le programme de gestion avancée de la Harvard Business School.

Cette photo figure Lesley Gallinger, membre du Conseil d

Lesley Gallinger

Lesley Gallinger est présidente et chef de la direction d’Elexicon Energy Inc., la quatrième plus grande entreprise de distribution d’électricité appartenant à une municipalité en Ontario. Plus récemment, Mme Gallinger était vice-présidente et chef de la stratégie et de la direction financière de l’Electrical Safety Authority. À ce titre, Mme Gallinger a dirigé l’élaboration d’un modèle de ressources renouvelables pour une organisation de sécurité de portée provinciale et a plusieurs réalisations à son actif dans les domaines de la gestion des risques d’entreprise, des projets de revitalisation et de l’amélioration du rendement des investissements. Mme Gallinger a précédemment été vice-présidente, affaires générales et réglementaires, et chef de la direction financière à la compagnie Oakville Hydro et a auparavant occupé diverses fonctions liées à la gestion financière. Elle a été membre des comités de la vérification et des finances de plusieurs conseils d’administration et préside actuellement le comité du régime de retraite d’un conseil d’administration. Elle est titulaire d’une maîtrise en administration des affaires de la Schulich School of Business, possède les titres de comptable professionnelle agréée (CMA) et de Certified Public Accountant (Illinois) et a suivi avec succès le programme de directeur agréé et de certification en comité de vérification de la DeGroote School of Business de l’Université McMaster.

Cette photo figure Sean Granville, membre du Conseil d

Sean Granville

Sean Granville est actuellement chef de l’exploitation nucléaire à Ontario Power Generation (OPG). Antérieurement, il a été pendant trois ans vice-président du chantier et chef de l’exploitation nucléaire à la centrale nucléaire de Point Lepreau, au Nouveau-Brunswick. M. Granville a acquis une grande partie de sa vaste expérience au cours des 35 années de carrière qu’il a passées à OPG (antérieurement Ontario Hydro), occupant des postes tels que vice-président adjoint, directeur de l’exploitation et de la maintenance et directeur des programmes nucléaires. Il possède une expertise dans des domaines comme la direction opérationnelle, le développement du leadership, l’amélioration du rendement, l’efficacité organisationnelle et les rapports avec l’industrie. M. Granville a de plus travaillé au sein de l’industrie nucléaire dans le cadre d’un détachement à la World Association of Nuclear Operators (WANO) et en tant que membre du conseil d’administration de l’Association nucléaire canadienne et membre votant du Groupe des propriétaires de CANDU. Il est titulaire d’un baccalauréat ès sciences en génie mécanique de l’Université de Waterloo.

Cette photo figure Michael G. Hare, membre du Conseil d

Michael G. Hare

Michael G. Hare est chef adjoint de l’exploitation nucléaire à Énergie NB. Fort de plus de 27 ans d’expérience de travail à Énergie NB, M. Hare est un dirigeant dont la formation en génie et en exploitation est résolument axée sur la sûreté. M. Hare a obtenu un baccalauréat en sciences du génie mécanique à l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick en 1987. Il s’est joint à la division nucléaire d’Énergie NB en 1992. Il a travaillé au sein de l’unité technique jusqu’en 1999, l’année où il est entré au programme de formation d’agrément. M. Hare est accrédité à la fois comme opérateur de salle de commande et comme chef de quart. Il s’est joint à l’équipe responsable de la réfection et a ensuite dirigé avec succès la remise en service de la centrale à titre de gestionnaire du redémarrage/de la remise en service. Subséquemment, M. Hare a été détaché auprès de la World Association of Nuclear Operators (WANO), puis a assumé le poste de chef de l’exploitation à la centrale. Plus récemment, il a été directeur de la centrale nucléaire de Point Lepreau.

Cette photo figure Ronald L. Jamieson, membre du Conseil d

Ronald L. Jamieson

Ronald L. Jamieson est ancien membre du Conseil d’administration de l’Ontario Power Authority. Avant sa retraite à la fin de 2005, il occupait le poste de vice-président principal des Services bancaires aux Autochtones, à la Banque de Montréal. M. Jamieson a exercé plusieurs fonctions de haute direction dans l’industrie des services financiers. Au cours de sa carrière, il a également pris part à des initiatives de développement économique en faveur des collectivités autochtones au Canada. M. Jamieson a occupé le poste de président du Conseil d’administration et de président et chef de la direction de la Société d’énergie de l’Ontario, dont le mandat était d’investir dans des projets énergétiques partout au Canada, ou d’y participer. Il est de plus président du Conseil d’administration de la Canadian Council for Aboriginal Business et a récemment été nommé président de First Canadian Property Investments Ltd. En 2014, M. Jamieson a été fait membre de l’Ordre de l’Ontario et de l’Ordre du Canada et a reçu un doctorat honorifique de l’Université Nipissing.

Cette photo figure Josée Pilon, membre du Conseil d

Josée Pilon

Josée Pilon est titulaire d’une maîtrise en administration des affaires de l’Université Laval. Elle faisait partie du comité directeur pour le projet d’évaluation de la réfection de Gentilly-2. À titre de gestionnaire de projets spéciaux, elle est responsable de l’évaluation des occasions d’affaires liées aux nouvelles sources d’énergie développées par le secteur privé, dont l’éolien, la biomasse et l’hydroélectricité. Elle participe également à l’évaluation de l’impact financier des nouveaux projets hydroélectriques sur les municipalités. Avant d’assumer ses fonctions actuelles, elle a occupé plusieurs postes de développement des affaires dans le cadre de projets internationaux.

Cette photo figure Beth Summers, membre du Conseil d

Beth Summers

Beth Summers est vice-présidente directrice et administratrice principale des affaires financières chez Superior Plus, où elle offre leadership et soutien financiers aux divers groupes de services et unités opérationnelles de l’entreprise. Elle était auparavant vice-présidente principale et administratrice principale des affaires financières à Ontario Power Generation (OPG), où elle assumait la responsabilité générale de la stratégie financière, des opérations de vérification, de la comptabilité, de la production des rapports, de la planification des affaires, de la planification des investissements, des affaires fiscales, de la trésorerie ainsi que de la gestion du fonds de retraite et des fonds nucléaires. Avant de se joindre à OPG, Mme Summers était administratrice principale des affaires financières de la société Just Energy Group Inc. Antérieurement, elle a travaillé à Hydro One, où elle a occupé des postes de responsabilité financière croissante, y compris celui d’administratrice principale des affaires financières. Mme Summers a entrepris sa carrière chez Ernst & Young, dans le domaine de la vérification, et est comptable agréée (FCPA, FCA). Mme Summers est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en administration des affaires de l’Université Wilfrid Laurier.

Conseil d'administration : Procès-verbaux des réunions – 2018

Un procès-verbal est rédigé pour chaque réunion du Conseil d’administration. À la demande du Conseil, ces procès-verbaux sont publiés.

Conseil d'administration : Procès-verbaux des réunions – 2017

Un procès-verbal est rédigé pour chaque réunion du Conseil d’administration. À la demande du Conseil, ces procès-verbaux sont publiés.

Conseil d'administration : Procès-verbaux des réunions – 2016  

Un procès-verbal est rédigé pour chaque réunion du Conseil d’administration. À la demande du Conseil, ces procès-verbaux sont publiés.

Conseil d’administration : Procès-verbaux des réunions – 2015

Un procès-verbal est rédigé pour chaque réunion du Conseil d’administration. À la demande du Conseil, ces procès-verbaux sont publiés.

Conseil d’administration : Procès-verbaux des réunions – 2014

Un procès-verbal est rédigé pour chaque réunion du Conseil d’administration. À la demande du Conseil, ces procès-verbaux sont publiés.

Conseil d’administration : Procès-verbaux des réunions – 2013

Un procès-verbal est rédigé pour chaque réunion du Conseil d’administration. À la demande du Conseil, ces procès-verbaux sont publiés.

Conseil d’administration : Procès-verbaux des réunions – 2012

Un procès-verbal est rédigé pour chaque réunion du Conseil d’administration. À la demande du Conseil, ces procès-verbaux sont publiés.

Conseil d’administration : Procès-verbaux des réunions – 2011

Un procès-verbal est rédigé pour chaque réunion du Conseil d’administration. À la demande du Conseil, ces procès-verbaux sont publiés.

Conseil d’administration : Procès-verbaux des réunions – 2010

Un procès-verbal est rédigé pour chaque réunion du Conseil d’administration. À la demande du Conseil, ces procès-verbaux sont publiés.

Conseil d’administration : Procès-verbaux des réunions – 2009

Conseil d’administration : Procès-verbaux des réunions – 2008

Conseil d’administration : Procès-verbaux des réunions – 2007

Conseil d’administration : Procès-verbaux des réunions – 2006

Conseil d’administration : Procès-verbaux des réunions – 2005

Conseil d’administration : Procès-verbaux des réunions – 2004

Conseil d’administration : Procès-verbaux des réunions – 2003

Conseil d’administration : Procès-verbaux des réunions – 2002

Un procès-verbal est rédigé pour chaque réunion du Conseil d’administration. À la demande du Conseil, ces procès-verbaux sont publiés.