Since 2008, the NWMO has contributed to organizations that reflect our interest in fostering a culture of science, and in supporting youth pursuits in science and technology.

Science North

Science North has a mandate to deliver high-quality, interactive and hands-on science programs for JK to Grade 8. Science North's educational programs correspond with the Ontario Science and Technology Curriculum strands and topics for JK to Grade 8. Selection of science programs are identified with the school according to specific interests and needs, and includes pre- and post-workshop activities prepared for the teacher to use in classroom to prepare for the workshop or reinforce/supplement the learning derived from the workshop.

Sponsorship Details

The NWMO provides funding to support delivery of Science North’s outreach programs to Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal elementary and secondary schools in several northern Ontario communities in our potential siting areas.

  • 2015: $50,000
  • 2014: $71,000
  • 2013: $56,000
  • 2012: $47,000

Scientists in School

Scientists in School (SiS) is a leading science education charity dedicated to sparking children’s interest in science, technology, engineering, environmental stewardship, and math through hands-on discovery. SiS’s programs are award-winning, inquiry-based workshops for kindergarten through Grade 8 students. SiS’s child-centered workshops bring together creative, curriculum-aligned content, trained presenters, and specialized materials and equipment often lacking in schools.

Sponsorship Details

The NWMO provides funding to allow the organization to introduce programming in southern Ontario communities and regions involved in the site selection process.

  • 2015: $40,000 for 70 workshops in four school boards within Bruce and Huron Counties
  • 2014: $40,000 for 65 workshops in four school boards within Bruce and Huron Counties
  • 2013: $40,000 for 50 workshops in four school boards within Bruce and Huron Counties

Shad

The Shad program is an intensive one-month development program for high-achieving secondary school students with strong academic records. The four-week program, held every July, exposes students to topics of study related to science, engineering, mathematics, technology, business, entrepreneurship, and innovation. In addition to sponsoring the program, the NWMO also holds interactive presentations with Shad students about Canada's plan for used nuclear fuel.

Sponsorship Details

The NWMO provides bursaries to top science and technology students from Saskatchewan, Ontario, Quebec, and New Brunswick to participate in Shad’s summer educational program. From 2010 to 2014, our contribution of $20,000 per year provided bursaries to 85 students. In 2015, we signed a new three-year contract with Shad, increasing our annual contribution to $25,000.

Past Sponsorships

Actua

The NWMO supported Actua in 2009 and 2010. Actua provides youth across the country (aged 6-16 years) with hands-on learning experiences in science, engineering and technology through workshops, camps, clubs, and community outreach initiatives. Through its Aboriginal outreach programming, Actua has a long track record of inspiring Aboriginal youth interest in science and demonstrates how traditional aboriginal knowledge can play a significant role in the study of science.

Sponsorship Details

The NWMO supported Actua's Aboriginal Outreach Program in Saskatchewan, Ontario, Quebec, and New Brunswick.

  • 2009: $30,000
  • 2010: $50,000

Community Foundations of Canada

Community Foundations of Canada’s youth advisory committees engage youth in their communities, reinforce the spirit of giving, provide opportunities for youth leadership development, connect youth in local communities and around the world, and give youth a voice in community foundations and communities.

Sponsorship Details

  • 2009: $78,329.50 for several community-based youth grants

University of Saskatchewan Science Ambassador Program

The NWMO sponsored the Science Ambassador Program in 2013 and 2014. The program pairs senior undergraduate and graduate students enrolled in science, engineering, secondary science education, and health sciences with remote learning communities that have a high proportion of students with Aboriginal ancestry.

Science Ambassadors work alongside teachers to enrich students' experience of science. They organize and prepare hands-on activities and experiments, seek out creative and culturally relevant ways of demonstrating science, act as facilitators for classroom discussions, participate in extra-curricular science activities and community events, and mentor students interested in exploring possibilities for careers and continuing education.

Sponsorship Details

The NWMO sponsored the Science Ambassador Program in support of science outreach to remote learning communities that have a high proportion of Aboriginal students.

  • 2014: $7,500
  • 2013: $7,500

Youth Science Canada

The NWMO sponsored Youth Science Canada activities from 2008 to 2014. Our sponsorship enabled youth from communities and regions involved in the site selection process to attend a Regional Science Fair and the Canada-Wide Science Fair.

Sponsorship Details

  • Youth participation in regional science fairs and the annual competitive Canada-Wide Science Fair. NWMO contribution: $55,000 (2013–2014).
  • Presenting Sponsor of the Bronze Excellence Awards with 40 medals per age category (junior, intermediate and senior). NWMO contribution: $55,000 (2012–2013).
  • Youth with top projects are selected to attend Team Canada-MILSET, a bi-annual non-competitive international expo that brings together young people from around the world to exchange ideas, compare projects, and instill a culture of science by fostering networking and international collaboration. NWMO contribution in 2010-2011: matching funds of up to $20,000 with proof of commitment from province and/or key provincial partner, plus $3,500 for NWMO booth at Canada-Wide Science Fair.
  • Support for youth from Saskatchewan, Ontario, Quebec and New Brunswick to participate in the Team Canada-MILSET Program. NWMO contribution: $30,000 (2009–2010).
  • Support for 44 youth to participate in the Team Canada-MILSET Program. NWMO contribution: $50,000 (2008–2009).

Depuis 2008, la SGDN offre une contribution aux organisations qui partagent notre intérêt pour la promotion de la culture scientifique et qui soutiennent les jeunes dans leurs projets scientifiques et technologiques.

Science Nord

Science Nord a comme mandat d’offrir des programmes scientifiques interactifs et pratiques de qualité à des jeunes de la maternelle à la 8e année. Les activités éducatives Science Nord correspondent au contenu des programmes de sciences et technologies que dispense le ministère de l’Éducation de l’Ontario pour les jeunes de la maternelle à la 8e année. Les programmes sont déterminés en collaboration avec chaque école en fonction de ses intérêts et de ses besoins particuliers et comprend des activités pré et post-ateliers que les enseignants peuvent utiliser en classe pour préparer les ateliers ou développer/compléter les apprentissages tirés des ateliers.

Subventions accordées

La SGDN subventionne la mise en oeuvre des programmes de sensibilisation de Science Nord dans les écoles primaires et secondaires autochtones et non autochtones desservant les secteurs de plusieurs collectivités du nord de l’Ontario participant notre processus de sélection d’un site.

  • 2015 : 50 000 $
  • 2014 : 71 000 $
  • 2013 : 56 000 $
  • 2012 : 47 000 $

Scientists in School

Scientists in School (SiS) est un programme de bienfaisance axé sur l’apprentissage des sciences dont le mandat est de susciter l’intérêt des jeunes pour les sciences, la technologie, le génie, la préservation de l’environnement et les mathématiques par le biais d’ateliers pratiques. Les programmes SiS offrent des ateliers primés, basés sur la découverte, aux jeunes de la maternelle à la 8e année. Les ateliers SiS centrés sur les enfants réunissent des contenus créatifs, conformes aux programmes éducatifs, des présentateurs bien formés et du matériel pédagogique spécialisé qui manque souvent dans les écoles.

Subventions accordées

La SGDN subventionne le programme Scientists in School pour l’aider à offrir une programmation d’activités d’apprentissage dans les collectivités et régions du sud de l’Ontario participant au processus de sélection d’un site.

  • 2015 : 40 000 $ pour 70 ateliers dans quartre conseils scolaires des comtés de Bruce et d'Huron
  • 2014 : 40 000 $ pour 65 ateliers dans quatre conseils scolaires des comtés de Bruce et d’Huron
  • 2013 : 40 000 $ pour 50 ateliers dans quatre conseils scolaires des comtés de Bruce et d’Huron

Shad

Le programme Shad est un programme intensif de développement d’une durée d’un mois destiné aux élèves du secondaire présentant d’excellents résultats scolaires. Le programme de quatre semaines (chaque mois de juillet) expose les élèves à des sujets d’étude liés aux sciences, au génie, aux mathématiques, à la technologie, aux affaires, à l’entrepreneuriat et à l’innovation. En plus de commanditer le programme, la SGDN donne aussi des présentations interactives aux étudiants inscrits sur le plan canadien de gestion du combustible nucléaire irradié.

Subventions accordées

La SGDN offre des bourses aux meilleurs étudiants en sciences et en technologies de la Saskatchewan, de l'Ontario, du Québec et du Nouveau-Brunswick pour les aider à participer au programme éducatif estival Shad. De 2010 à 2014, la SGDN a accordé 20 000 $ par année en bourses à 85 étudiants. En 2015, nous avons signé un contrat de trois ans avec le programme Shad, augmentant notre contribution à 25 000 $.

Commandites accordées par le passé

Actua

La SGDN a soutenu le programme Actua en 2009 et en 2010. Ce programme permet aux jeunes du pays (de 6 à 16 ans) d’acquérir une expérience pratique en sciences, en génie et en technologies par le biais d’ateliers, de camps, de clubs et d’initiatives de sensibilisation communautaire. Avec son programme d’approche des populations autochtones, Actua mousse depuis longtemps l’intérêt des jeunes pour les sciences et démontre comment le savoir traditionnel autochtone peut jouer un rôle important dans l’étude des sciences.

Subventions accordées

La SGDN a soutenu le programme Actua de sensibilisation des Autochtones en Saskatchewan, en Ontario, au Québec et au Nouveau-Brunswick.

  • 2009 : 30 000 $
  • 2010 : 50 000 $

Fondations communautaires du Canada

Les comités consultatifs jeunesse de Fondations communautaires du Canada mobilisent les jeunes de leurs collectivités, renforcent l’esprit de générosité, offrent des occasions aux jeunes de développer leur sens du leadership, mettent en réseau les jeunes au sein de leurs collectivités et dans le monde et leur donnent voix au chapitre au sein des fondations communautaires et de leurs collectivités.

Subventions accordées

  • 2009 : 78 329,50 $ répartis en plusieurs bourses aux jeunes des collectivités

Programme Science Ambassador de l’Université de la Saskatchewan

La SGDN a commandité le programme Science Ambassador en 2013 et en 2014. Ce programme jumelle des étudiants de fin de premier cycle et de cycles supérieurs en sciences, en génie, en enseignement des sciences au secondaire et en sciences de la santé avec des écoles de collectivités éloignées dont une large proportion d’élèves est d’ascendance autochtone.

Les ambassadeurs du programme travaillent avec les enseignants dans le but d’enrichir l’expérience scientifique des élèves. Ils organisent et préparent des activités et des ateliers pratiques, cherchent des façons créatives et culturellement adaptées de démontrer les principes scientifiques, animent des discussions en classe, participent à des activités parascolaires et à des événements dans les collectivités touchant les sciences et encadrent des élèves dans l’exploration de leurs perspectives de carrière et d’éducation.

Subventions accordées

La SGDN a commandité le programme Science Ambassador pour soutenir la sensibilisation scientifique dans les écoles de collectivités éloignées dont une large proportion des élèves est d’ascendance autochtone.

  • 2014 : 7500 $
  • 2013 : 7500 $

Sciences jeunesse Canada

La SGDN a commandité les activités du programme Sciences jeunesse Canada de 2008 à 2014. L’aide accordée a permis aux jeunes des collectivités et régions participant au processus de sélection d’un site de participer à une expo-science régionale et à l’Expo-sciences pancanadienne.

Subventions accordées

  • Participation de jeunes à des expo-sciences régionales et au concours de l’Expo-sciences pancanadienne. Contribution de la SGDN : 55 000 $ (2013–2014).
  • Commanditaire de présentation des prix d’excellence de bronze – 40 médailles par catégorie d’âge (junior, intermédiaire et sénior). Contribution de la SGDN : 55 000 $ (2012–2013).
  • Les jeunes présentant les meilleurs projets sont choisis pour faire partie de l’Équipe Canada-MILSET, une expo internationale biennale, qui n’est pas une compétition, où des jeunes du monde entier se rencontrent pour échanger des idées, comparer des projets et élargir leur culture scientifique par le développement de réseaux et de collaborations internationales. Contribution de la SGDN en 2010–2011 : subventions atteignant jusqu’à 20 000 $ avec preuve d’un engagement équivalent de la province et/ou d’un partenaire provincial important, plus 3500 $ pour le stand de la SGDN à l’Expo-sciences pancanadienne.
  • Soutien accordé à des jeunes de la Saskatchewan, de l’Ontario, du Québec et du Nouveau-Brunswick dans le cadre du programme de l’Équipe Canada-MILSET. Contribution de la SGDN : 30 000 $ (2009–2010).
  • Soutien accordé à 44 jeunes pour participer au programme de l’Équipe Canada-MILSET. Contribution de la SGDN : 50 000 $ (2008–2009).