A Centre of Expertise will be established at, or near, the site. Its initial purpose is to support the multi-year testing and assessment of the site with a focus on safety and community well-being.

The centre will be home to a technical and social research program, and a technology demonstration program, involving scientists and experts from a wide variety of disciplines. An engineering test facility will develop materials and equipment to be used in the repository. The centre will also house demonstration equipment that displays the entire packaging and container placement process.

In later phases of the project, it will become a hub for knowledge-sharing across Canada and internationally.

The design and use of the centre will be developed collaboratively with those living in the area. It could, for example, be a focal point for the community to learn about the project. It could also become a destination that welcomes visitors from the region and beyond. Should the First Nation and Métis communities in the area desire, it could feature a learning area focused on how Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge is being applied to the project.

Opportunities to work with the community to sustain and enhance the natural environment will also be explored. The technologies and monitoring processes involved in operating a repository may have wider applications; for example, the monitoring and protection of natural water systems in the area. Specialists leading the implementation and operation of the repository could also support environmental sustainability planning in the area.

Artistic Concepts of Centre of Expertise


This artist rendering shows one possible design for a Centre of Expertise.​

This artist rendering shows one possible design for a Centre of Expertise.

This artist rendering shows another possible design for a Centre of Expertise.

This artist rendering shows another possible design for a Centre of Expertise.

Un Centre d’expertise sera établi sur le site ou à proximité. Il aura initialement pour but de soutenir la mise à l’épreuve et l’évaluation pluriannuels du site, principalement sur les plans de la sûreté et du bien-être de la collectivité.

Le centre sera le siège d’un programme de recherche technique et sociale ainsi que d’un programme de démonstration technologique, où travailleront des scientifiques et des experts d’un large éventail de disciplines. Une installation d’essais d’ingénierie mettra au point les matériaux et l’équipement qui seront utilisés dans le dépôt. Le centre abritera également des équipements de démonstration qui présentent l’ensemble du processus d’emballage et de mise en place des conteneurs.

Au cours des dernières phases du projet, il deviendra un carrefour canadien et international d’échange de connaissances.

La conception et l’utilisation du centre seront définies en collaboration avec la population du secteur. Le centre pourrait, par exemple, constituer un lieu privilégié où les membres de la collectivité pourraient se renseigner sur le projet. Il pourrait aussi devenir une destination qui accueille les visiteurs de la région et d’ailleurs. Si les collectivités des Premières nations et métisses du secteur le souhaitent, il pourrait comprendre un espace d’apprentissage expliquant comment le savoir traditionnel autochtone est appliqué au projet.

Les possibilités de travailler avec la collectivité en vue de soutenir et d’améliorer l’environnement naturel seront également explorées. Les technologies et les processus de surveillance utilisés dans le cadre de l’exploitation d’un dépôt pourraient avoir des applications plus larges. Par exemple, la surveillance et la protection des systèmes hydrographiques naturels du secteur. Les spécialistes dirigeant la mise en oeuvre et l’exploitation du dépôt pourraient en outre contribuer à la planification de la viabilité environnementale du secteur.

Conceptions artistiques du Centre d’expertise


Cette image de synthèse illustre un aménagement possible du Centre d’expertise.

Cette image de synthèse illustre un aménagement possible du Centre d’expertise.

Cette image de synthèse illustre un autre aménagement possible du Centre d’expertise.

Cette image de synthèse illustre un autre aménagement possible du Centre d’expertise.