The deep geological repository is a network of underground tunnels and placement rooms for used nuclear fuel containers. It is designed to safely contain and isolate Canada's used nuclear fuel over the long term.

The repository will be constructed at a depth of about 500 metres below the ground's surface, depending on rock characteristics at the site. To construct the deep geological repository, rock excavation would primarily be done using a method that involves controlled drilling and blasting. Rock boring technology may also be used depending on the final design and site conditions.

A conceptual layout for a repository would require an underground footprint of about two kilometres by three kilometres (about 600 hectares or 1,480 acres). The actual underground footprint at any particular site would depend on a number of factors, including the characteristics of the rock, the location of underground features in the rock, the final design of the repository and the total inventory of used fuel to be managed. The repository will also include areas for offices, maintenance facilities, services, monitoring and testing.
This conceptual diagram shows a deep geological repository, including facilities on the surface, a main shaft complex leading to underground placement rooms and a ventilation exhaust shaft.

The repository design uses a multiple-barrier system. A series of engineered and natural barriers work together to contain and isolate used nuclear fuel from people and the environment.

The final layout of the repository will depend on a number of factors, including characteristics of the chosen site, final design of the barrier system, final safety considerations, and inventory of used fuel to be managed.

Monitoring

There will be an extensive environmental and operational monitoring program for ground and surface water, radiation, air quality, fire and more. This monitoring will start prior to construction and will continue through operations. There will also be an extended monitoring period following placement of the used nuclear fuel.

Le dépôt géologique en profondeur est un réseau de tunnels souterrains et de salles servant au stockage des conteneurs de combustible nucléaire irradié. Il est conçu pour confiner et isoler de manière sûre le combustible nucléaire irradié canadien pour une très longue période.

Le dépôt sera construit à une profondeur approximative de 500 mètres dans le sol, selon les caractéristiques rocheuses du site. Pour construire le dépôt géologique en profondeur, l’excavation de la roche sera principalement faite à l’aide d’une méthode de perçage et de dynamitage contrôlés. Des technologies de forage de la roche pourraient aussi être utilisées, suivant la conception définitive et les conditions du site.

En théorie, le dépôt nécessiterait une empreinte souterraine d’approximativement deux kilomètres sur trois kilomètres (approximativement 600 hectares ou 1480 acres). L’empreinte souterraine réelle de tout site en particulier dépendra d’un certain nombre de facteurs, notamment des caractéristiques de la roche, de l’emplacement de certaines particularités souterraines de la roche, de la conception définitive du dépôt et de la quantité totale de combustible irradié à gérer. Le dépôt comprendra aussi des aires réservées aux bureaux, aux installations de maintenance, aux services, à la surveillance et aux essais.

La conception du dépôt comprend un système à barrières multiples. Une série de barrières ouvragées et naturelles se combineront pour confiner et isoler le combustible nucléaire irradié de la population et de l’environnement.

La configuration définitive du dépôt dépendra d’un certain nombre de facteurs, notamment des caractéristiques du site choisi, de la conception définitive du système de barrières, de considérations finales en matière de sûreté et de la quantité de combustible irradié à gérer.

Surveillance

Un programme exhaustif de surveillance environnementale et opérationnelle des eaux souterraines et de surface, des rayonnements, de la qualité de l’air, des risques d’incendie, et plus sera mis en oeuvre. Cette surveillance commencera avant la construction et se poursuivra tout au long de l’exploitation. Une période de surveillance prolongée suivra également la période de mise en place du combustible nucléaire irradié.