The NWMO's Corporate Social Responsibility Program (CSRP) supports efforts to establish and strengthen collaborative relationships with communities that expressed an interest in learning about the project, First Nation and Métis communities in the area, and surrounding municipalities. We also place a strong importance on engaging youth. We sponsor a range of activities at the local and regional levels, as well as various youth science programs.

Sponsorship of Local Initiatives

The NWMO will consider support for local initiatives in areas involved in the site selection process as follows:

  • In communities that initiated involvement in the site selection process and have entered Phase 2 of Preliminary Assessments

  • In communities that neighbour Phase 2 communities
  • In First Nation and Métis communities that surround Phase 2 communities

Priority is given to initiatives that support community well-being with an emphasis on education and youth.

The program has a maximum investment of $2,500 per initiative. Our investment must be no more than 30 per cent of the total budget. Support and collaboration from other sources, including community support, should be evident.

Sponsorship of Regional Initiatives and Youth Science Organizations

Since 2008, the NWMO has established strong relationships with not-for-profit organizations that support youth and science in regions involved in the site selection process and in provinces involved in the nuclear fuel cycle. Sponsorship of these organizations recognizes the value in encouraging broad-based intergenerational learning. Read more about our Sponsorship of Regional Initiatives and Youth Science Organizations.

Le Programme de responsabilité sociale (PRS) de la SGDN vise à soutenir les efforts menés pour établir et renforcer le climat de collaboration avec les collectivités qui ont exprimées un intérêt à en savoir plus sur le projet, les collectivités des Premières nations et métisses de la région, et les municipalités voisines. Nous portons également une grande importance à faire participer les jeunes. Nous parrainons un éventail d'activités aux niveaux local et régional, de même que plusieurs programmes scientifiques pour les jeunes.

Parrainage des initiatives locales

La SGDN envisagera de soutenir les initiatives locales des régions participant au processus de sélection d'un site comme suit :

  • Dans les collectivités qui participent au processus de sélection d’un site et qui en sont à la Phase 2 des Évaluations préliminaires

  • Dans les collectivités voisines des collectivités participant à la Phase 2
  • Dans les collectivités des Premières nations et métisses des environs des collectivités participant à la Phase 2

La priorité sera accordée aux occasions axées sur l’éducation et les jeunes et qui favorisent le bien-être de la collectivité.

La subvention maximale offerte par initiative est de 2500 $. Le niveau de notre financement ne peut dépasser 30 pour cent du budget total. Un appui et une collaboration d’autres sources, y compris de la collectivité elle-même, doivent être clairement établis.

Parrainage d'initiatives régionales et d'organismes scientifiques jeunesse

Depuis 2008, la SGDN a établi des relations solides avec des organismes à but non lucratif qui incitent les jeunes à s’intéresser aux sciences dans les régions participant au processus de sélection d'un site et dans les provinces participant au cycle de combustible nucléaire. Le parrainage de ces organismes reconnaît l'importance de promouvoir une transmission élargie des connaissances entre les générations. Lisez-en davantage sur notre Parrainage d'initiatives régionales et d'organismes scientifiques jeunesse.