This is a profile picture of the NWMO

Laurie Swami

  • President and CEO, Nuclear Waste Management Organization

Ms. Laurie Swami is the President and CEO of the NWMO. She was appointed to the role in 2016 and is responsible for implementing Canada’s plan for the long-term management of used nuclear fuel. Ms. Swami previously served as Senior Vice-President of Decommissioning and Nuclear Waste Management at Ontario Power Generation (OPG). Her responsibilities included overseeing operation of OPG’s nuclear waste management facilities, as well as implementing OPG’s low- and intermediate-level nuclear waste deep geologic repository. She began her career at OPG in 1986 and held various roles with increasing responsibility in the Nuclear Division. She holds a Bachelor of Science in Engineering Chemistry from Queen’s University and a Master of Business Administration from the Schulich School of Business.

This is a profile picture of the NWMO

Mahrez Ben Belfadhel

  • Vice-President, Site Selection

Dr. Mahrez Ben Belfadhel is the Vice President of Site Selection at the NWMO. He has been with the NWMO for 10 years, as a leader in both technical assessment and community engagement. Dr. Ben Belfadhel has 30 years of academic, regulatory and industrial experience in areas related to geotechnical engineering and radioactive waste management. Prior to joining the NWMO, he was with the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission where he was involved in safety assessment and licensing for all radioactive waste management facilities across Canada, including uranium mining and milling waste facilities. He has a Bachelor’s degree in Civil Engineering from École Polytechnique of Algiers, and a Master’s degree and PhD in Geotechnical Engineering from the Université de Sherbrooke, Québec. He is also a registered Professional Engineer.

This is a profile picture of the NWMO

Lisa Frizzell

  • Vice-President, Stakeholder Relations

Lisa Frizzell is the Vice-President of Stakeholder Relations at the NWMO. Before joining the organization as Director of Corporate Affairs in 2012, Ms. Frizzell worked in communications for a number of corporate, academic and government organizations in Canada and the United States. Her focus is in strategic communications and she brings extensive experience as a communications leader, primarily in the energy sector. Ms. Frizzell holds a Bachelor of Public Relations from Mount Saint Vincent University and an Executive Master of Business Administration from the University of Calgary’s Haskayne School of Business.

This is a profile picture of the NWMO

Marni Halter

  • Senior Legal Counsel

Marni Halter is Senior Legal Counsel at the NWMO. She joined the organization in 2009, prior to which Ms. Halter worked at Torys LLP and SNC-Lavalin Inc., focusing on corporate law and large infrastructure projects in various industries, including mining and nuclear. Ms. Halter holds a Bachelor of Arts (Hons.) in French and Spanish from the University of Western Ontario, and combined Juris Doctor/Master of Business Administration degrees from the University of Toronto. Ms. Halter was called to the Ontario Bar in 2001.

This is a profile picture of the NWMO

Michael Hung

  • Chief Financial and Risk Officer

Michael Hung is the Chief Financial and Risk Officer at the NWMO. Prior to joining the NWMO, Mr. Hung held various positions in financial planning and reporting, accounting and treasury at OPG and Hydro One. Mr. Hung holds a Bachelor of Applied Science in Industrial Engineering from the University of Toronto and a Master of Business Administration from the Schulich School of Business in Toronto. He is also a Chartered Professional Accountant, CMA.

This is a profile picture of the NWMO

Jennifer Spragge

  • Vice-President, Human Resources and Chief Ethics Officer

Jennifer Spragge is the Vice-President of Human Resources and Chief Ethics Officer at the NWMO. Prior to joining the NWMO, she held the positions of Vice-President of Human Resources and Strategic Planning at Certified General Accountants of Ontario, and Senior Director of Human Resources and Strategic Planning for Sales and Marketing at the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation. Ms. Spragge has a Bachelor of Applied Arts from Ryerson University and is a Certified Human Resources and Compensation Committee Director.

This is a profile picture of the NWMO

Bob Watts

  • Vice-President, Indigenous Relations

Bob Watts is the Vice-President of Indigenous Relations at the NWMO. He has worked on a broad range of Aboriginal issues at the regional and national levels for many years, including working to establish the historic Indian Residential Schools Truth and Reconciliation Commission. Mr. Watts is also an adjunct professor at Queen’s University in Kingston, Ontario.

This is a profile picture of the NWMO

Derek Wilson

  • Chief Engineer and Vice-President, Contract Management

Derek Wilson is the Chief Engineer and Vice-President of Contract Management at the NWMO. He is responsible for the implementation of the Adaptive Phased Management (APM) technical program. He is also the NWMO Project Manager for our work in support of OPG's efforts to obtain regulatory approval for a proposed Deep Geologic Repository to store low- and intermediate-level waste. The NWMO's work, on behalf of OPG, recognizes our unique technical expertise in long-term nuclear waste management. It is separate from our mandate to implement APM. Mr. Wilson is a mining engineer with over 20 years experience in the mining and heavy construction industries, primarily in project and operational management roles. Prior to joining the NWMO, he worked with the mining division of AMEC and with Holcim Canada.

Ceci est une photo de profil de Laurie Swami, présidente et chef de la direction de la SGDN.

Laurie Swami

  • Présidente et chef de la direction, Société de gestion des déchets nucléaires

Mme Laurie Swami est la présidente et chef de la direction de la SGDN. Elle a été nommé à ce role en 2016 et est responsable de la mise en oeuvre du plan canadien pour la gestion à long terme du combustible nucléaire irradié. Mme Swami a été vice-présidente principale, programmes de déclassement et de gestion des déchets nucléaires à Ontario Power Generation (OPG). Elle avait notamment comme responsabilités de superviser l’exploitation des installations de gestion de déchets nucléaires et la mise en oeuvre du dépôt géologique en profondeur pour déchets de faible et moyenne activité d’OPG. Elle a entrepris sa carrière à OPG en 1986 et a assumé diverses fonctions de responsabilité croissante au sein de la division nucléaire. Elle est titulaire d’un baccalauréat ès sciences en génie chimique de l’Université Queen’s et d’une maîtrise en administration des affaires de la Schulich School of Business.

Ceci est une photo de profil de Mahrez Ben Belfadhel, vice-président responsable de la sélection d

Mahrez Ben Belfadhel

  • Vice-président, Sélection d'un site

Mahrez Ben Belfadhel est vice-président responsable de la sélection d’un site à la SGDN. Il y occupe depuis maintenant 10 ans de hautes responsabilités en matière d’évaluation technique et d’engagement des collectivités. M. Ben Belfadhel possède 30 ans d’expérience universitaire, réglementaire et industrielle dans des domaines liés à la géotechnique et à la gestion des déchets radioactifs. Avant de se joindre à la SGDN, il travaillait à la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire, où il prenait part à l’évaluation de la sûreté et à l’octroi de permis de toutes les installations de gestion de déchets radioactifs au Canada, y compris des installations de gestion des déchets des mines et des usines de concentration d’uranium. Il est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en génie civil de l’École Polytechnique d’Alger ainsi que d’une maîtrise et d’un doctorat en géotechnique de l’Université de Sherbrooke, au Québec. Il est également ingénieur agréé.

Ceci est une photo de profil de Lisa Frizzell, vice-présidente des relations avec les intervenants à la SGDN.

Lisa Frizzell

  • Vice-présedente, Relations avec les intervenants

Lisa Frizzell est vice-présidente responsable des relations avec les intervenants à la SGDN. Avant de se joindre à la Société à titre de directrice des affaires générales en 2012, Mme Frizzell a travaillé dans les communications pour un certain nombre d’organisations privées, universitaires et gouvernementales au Canada et aux États-Unis. Son domaine d’action de prédilection est celui des communications stratégiques et, en sa qualité de dirigeante en communications, elle a acquis une vaste expérience, principalement dans le secteur de l’énergie. Mme Frizzell est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en relations publiques de l’Université Mount Saint Vincent et d’une maîtrise en administration des affaires de la Haskayne School of Business de l’Université de Calgary.

Ceci est une photo de profil de Marni Halter, avocate-conseil principale à la SGDN.

Marni Halter

  • Avocate-conseil principale

Marni Halter est avocate-conseil principale à la SGDN. Elle s’est jointe à l’organisation en 2009. Elle avait travaillé antérieurement pour Torys s.r.l. et SNC-Lavalin inc., principalement dans les domaines du droit des sociétés et des grands projets d’infrastructure liés à divers secteurs, dont l’industrie minière et l’industrie nucléaire. Mme Halter est titulaire d’un baccalauréat ès arts (avec spécialisation) en études françaises et espagnoles de l’Université Western Ontario ainsi que de diplômes de doctorat en jurisprudence et de maîtrise en administration des affaires de l’Université de Toronto. Mme Halter a été admise au barreau de l’Ontario en 2001.

Ceci est une photo de profil de Michael Hung, Chef de la direction financière et de la gestion du risque à la SGDN.

Michael Hung

  • Chef de la direction financière et de la gestion du risque

Michael Hung est chef de la direction financière et de la gestion du risque à la SGDN. Avant de se joindre à la SGDN, M. Hung a occupé divers postes de planification et d’information financières, de comptabilité et de trésorerie à OPG et à Hydro One. M. Hung est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en sciences appliquées en génie industriel de l’Université de Toronto et d’une maîtrise en administration des affaires de la Schulich School of Business de Toronto. Il est aussi comptable professionnel agréé, CPA

Ceci est une photo de profil de Jennifer Spragge, vice-présidente des ressources humaines et responsable en chef de l

Jennifer Spragge

  • Vice-présidente, Ressources humaines et responsable en chef de l'éthique

Jennifer Spragge est vice-présidente des ressources humaines et responsable en chef de l'éthique à la SGDN. Avant de se joindre à la Société, elle a occupé des postes de vice-présidente aux ressources humaines et à la planification stratégique au sein de l’organisme Certified General Accountants of Ontario ainsi que de directrice principale des ressources humaines et de la planification stratégique des ventes et de la commercialisation à la Canadian Broadcasting Corporation. Mme Spragge est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en arts appliqués de l’Université Ryerson et est directrice agréée de comité de ressources humaines et de rémunération.

Ceci est une photo de profil de Bob Watts, vice-président responsable des relations avec les Autochtones à la SGDN.

Bob Watts

  • Vice-président, Relations avec les Autochtones

Bob Watts est vice-président responsable des relations avec les Autochtones à la SGDN. Il a travaillé sur un vaste éventail de questions autochtones à l’échelle régionale et nationale pendant plusieurs années, notamment à l’établissement de la Commission de vérité et de réconciliation relative aux pensionnats indiens. M. Watts est également professeure auxiliaire à l’Université Queen’s de Kingston, en Ontario.

Ceci est une photo de profil de Derek Wilson, ingénieur en chef et vice-président de la gestion contractuelle à la SGDN.

Derek Wilson

  • Ingénieur en chef et vice-président, Gestion contractuelle

Derek Wilson est ingénieur en chef et vice-président de la gestion contractuelle à la SGDN. Il est responsable de la mise en oeuvre du programme technique de la Gestion adaptative progressive (GAP). Il est aussi responsable de projet à la SGDN en lien avec notre soutien accordé à OPG dans le but d’obtenir l’approbation réglementaire d’un dépôt géologique en profondeur proposé pour stocker les déchets de faible et moyenne activité. La confiance accordée par OPG à la SGDN confirme notre compétence technique unique dans la gestion à long terme des déchets nucléaires. Ce travail ne fait pas partie de notre mandat premier, qui est de mettre en oeuvre la GAP. M. Wilson est un ingénieur minier possédant plus de 20 ans d’expérience dans les domaines de l’extraction minière et de la construction lourde, principalement dans des postes de gestion de projets et de gestion opérationnelle. Avant de se joindre à la SGDN, il a travaillé au sein de la division minière de l’AMEC et chez Holcim Canada.