Monitoring emerging technologies

Governments around the world are increasingly looking to nuclear energy as part of climate change initiatives. Here in Canada, the nuclear sector is actively exploring emerging nuclear technologies such as small modular reactors (SMRs), fuel reprocessing (sometimes referred to as recycling) and other types of advanced reactors.

Overview

Under the Nuclear Fuel Waste Act (2002), the NWMO is responsible for the safe, long-term management of all Canada’s used nuclear fuel, including that created using new or emerging technologies.

Managing used nuclear fuel

Emerging technologies such as SMRs or used nuclear fuel reprocessing will generate additional used nuclear fuel or other radioactive waste which will have characteristics similar to the used nuclear fuel from Canada’s current nuclear energy reactors.

No matter the source of the fuel, safety will always be our top priority.  

To ensure it is safe to manage, fuel waste will need to meet certain criteria:

  • The waste must be a stable, unreactive solid material.
  • Detailed information about the nature of the waste must be available, including information on physical characteristics, chemical composition, durability and other information that might influence repository design. 
  • Lastly, the fuel must be transportable to the repository site, and be able to fit into a licensed transportation package.

Adapting to new knowledge

Canada’s plan will contain and isolate all the country’s used nuclear fuel—including that created by new and emerging technologies—in a deep geological repository, using a multiple-barrier system. There is international consensus that deep geological repositories represent the best practice for the long-term management of used nuclear fuel resulting from alternate fuel cycles. Countries that reprocess used nuclear fuel—and others that are examining advanced fuel cycles—all have plans to implement deep geological repositories.

Known as Adaptive Phased Management, Canada’s plan will be implemented over many decades. A fundamental tenet of this approach is incorporating new knowledge and adapting to new technology. We’re building flexibility into repository designs so we can be ready to manage new types of used nuclear fuel.

Host communities for the planned deep geological repository will be part of decision-making for any plans to manage new forms of used nuclear fuel in the repository. For example, through discussions about partnership agreements, the NWMO will work with potential host communities to develop and agree on a process for managing future changes to the type or volume of waste to be managed in the repository.

Learn more

Small modular reactors

New nuclear technologies, including small modular reactors (SMRs) and very small modular reactors (VSMRs), may result in different types of used fuel. We are monitoring these developments closely and are in dialogue with multiple SMR and VSMR proponents to help us prepare for decisions that could change the volume and type of waste we are responsible for managing.

Interest in SMRs has strongly increased in the past few years, in part with the development of Canada’s Small Modular Reactor Action Plan.

The NWMO has participated in Canada’s SMR Action Plan and has committed to three actions: 

  • Demonstration and deployment: Early engagement with SMR vendors on technical specifications and costs;
  • Capacity, engagement and public confidence: Public and community engagement about used fuel from SMRs; and
  • Capacity, engagement and public confidence: Promoting diversity in the future SMR workforce.

As of February 2023, we are currently aware of two SMR projects in the licensing process. We expect these projects to lead to an approximately two per cent increase in volume over our projections for used CANDU fuel. We are also aware of other SMR proposals and as these advance we will make appropriate changes to our plans.

Frequently asked questions

View all FAQs
How does the NWMO plan to address used fuel from Small Modular Reactors (SMRs)?
The NWMO is responsible for implementing Canada's plan for the safe, long-term management of used nuclear fuel, including that created using new or emerging technologies such as small modular reactors (SMRs). The Nuclear Fuel Waste Act requires us to provide services for managing nuclear fuel waste over the long-term at a fair and reasonable cost. 

In Canada there is an active research sector exploring new technologies such as SMRs. We encourage organizations developing new concepts to work with us to identify the types of fuel waste that may result. 

Fuel waste will need to meet certain criteria to ensure we can accept it and meet all safety requirements. For example, the waste will need to be a durable, solid material and transportable to the site. We will also need detailed information about characteristics such as composition, radionuclides, handling and the length of time since it was removed from a reactor.

I heard we’ll be able to reprocess used nuclear fuel, so why bury it?

Studies conducted around the world have concluded that high-level waste from reprocessing should also be contained and isolated in a deep geological repository.

 

If Canada chooses to reprocess nuclear fuel in the future, it would be a joint decision by the nuclear energy producers, the associated provincial governments and the federal government.

 

If such a decision were made, the NWMO would work with utilities and government to safely manage whatever high-level waste resulted from this process. For example, if some used fuel was identified for reprocessing, it could be diverted for that purpose instead of being placed in the deep geological repository, and be retrieved at a later date.

 

To help anticipate any changes in fuel cycles used in Canada, we keep an annual watching brief on new developments.

What if nuclear plants with different fuel types are used in the future?
In the future, decisions regarding nuclear power generation made by provincial governments, nuclear plant operators and regulators may result in different types of used fuel.

Canada’s plan for the long-term management of used nuclear fuel has sufficient flexibility to manage different types of used fuel if necessary. If power plant operators, governments and regulators made the decision to use different fuel, we would review our design and safety case and update our plans in consultation with interested parties.

The specific amount and type of used fuel to be placed in the repository for long-term management will be agreed with the community using an open and transparent engagement process. This process will use the best information available at the time. It will involve surrounding communities and others who are interested and potentially affected.

Regulatory review processes and approvals will be based on a specific fuel inventory as well. These processes will also involve an open and transparent consultation process.
What happens to the plan if technology changes before it's fully implemented?

Canada's plan, by design, is flexible and adaptive so that it can be responsive to advances in technical learning, international best practices, ongoing input from the public, insight from Indigenous Knowledge, changes in public policy, and evolving societal expectations and values. The implementation of Adaptive Phased Management will span many decades. Because of the timelines involved, it includes numerous opportunities to refine and adjust plans.


The ability of the plan to adjust to change, if appropriate, was a common objective, which emerged from a three-year dialogue with thousands of Canadians about a plan for the long-term management of used nuclear fuel.

Many wanted the plan to provide flexibility for future generations to shape decisions as the plan is implemented over several decades. Many also emphasized the importance of designing the repository in a way that allows for the retrieval of used nuclear fuel in order to take advantage of the development of new technologies.

We are committed to continuous learning to inform decision-making at each step along the way.

What happens to the plan if new nuclear plants are built?
Future decisions about nuclear power generation made by provincial governments, nuclear plant operators and regulators may result in a larger inventory of used nuclear fuel. For instance, the lives of existing reactors might be extended through additional refurbishment. Provincial governments may also decide to build new nuclear plants.

The specific amount of used fuel to be placed in the repository for long-term management will be agreed with the community using the best information available at the time, and through an open and transparent engagement process involving surrounding communities and others who are interested and potentially affected.

Regulatory review processes and approvals, which are required by law before the facility can be constructed and operated, will be based on a specific fuel inventory and will also involve an open and transparent consultation process.

Related documents

A photo of a NWMO report.

Watching brief

To help anticipate any changes in fuel cycles used in Canada, and the types of waste that may need to be managed, we keep a watching brief on new developments. We update it annually.
A photo of an NWMO report

Small Modular Reactors: Managing Used Fuel

In Canada, there is an active research sector exploring new technologies such as small modular reactors (SMRs), fuel reprocessing and other types of advanced reactors.

Continue reading

An icon showing a used fuel bundle

Explore

Canada's used nuclear fuel
An icon of a pencil and a ruler

Canada's plan

Implementing Canada's plan

Surveillance des technologies émergentes

Partout dans le monde, les gouvernements se tournent de plus en plus vers l’énergie nucléaire pour mieux lutter contre les changements climatiques. Au Canada, le secteur nucléaire explore activement les possibilités qu’offrent certaines technologies nucléaires émergentes, telles que les petits réacteurs modulaires (PRM), le retraitement du combustible (parfois appelé recyclage) et d’autres types de réacteurs avancés.

    Aperçu

    En vertu de la Loi sur les déchets de combustible nucléaire (2002), la SGDN doit assurer la gestion à long terme sûre de tout le combustible nucléaire irradié canadien, y compris celui généré par les technologies nouvelles ou émergentes.

     

    Gestion du combustible nucléaire irradié

    Les nouvelles sources de combustible irradié, telles que les PRM ou le retraitement du combustible irradié, génèrent des déchets hautement radioactifs, un sous-produit dont les caractéristiques sont similaires à celles du combustible irradié produit par les réacteurs nucléaires canadiens actuels.

    Quelle que soit la provenance du combustible, la sûreté sera toujours notre priorité absolue.

    Pour que les déchets de combustible puissent être gérés de manière sûre, certains critères devront être respectés :

    • Les déchets doivent être des matières solides stables et non réactives.

    • Des informations détaillées sur la nature des déchets doivent être disponibles, y compris sur les caractéristiques physiques, la composition chimique, la durabilité et dautres aspects susceptibles dinfluencer la conception du dépôt.

    • Enfin, le combustible doit pouvoir être transporté jusquau site du dépôt et pouvoir sinsérer dans un colis de transport autorisé.

    Adaptation aux nouvelles connaissances

    En vertu du plan canadien, tout le combustible nucléaire irradié du pays — y compris celui issu des technologies nouvelles et émergentes — sera confiné et isolé dans un dépôt géologique en profondeur au moyen dun système multibarrière. Le consensus international veut que les dépôts géologiques en profondeur constituent la meilleure pratique de gestion à long terme du combustible nucléaire irradié provenant des nouveaux cycles de combustible. Les pays qui retraitent le combustible nucléaire irradié — et ceux qui envisagent de recourir à des cycles de combustible avancés — prévoient tous d’exploiter des dépôts géologiques en profondeur.

    Également connu sous le nom de « Gestion adaptative progressive », le plan canadien sera mis en oeuvre sur une période de plusieurs décennies. Lun des principes fondamentaux de cette approche est lintégration de nouvelles connaissances et ladaptation aux nouvelles technologies. Nous intégrons une certaine part de flexibilité dans la conception du dépôt afin dêtre en bonne position pour gérer tout nouveau type de combustible nucléaire irradié.

    Les collectivités hôtes du dépôt géologique en profondeur prévu participeront aux décisions concernant tout plan visant à stocker le combustible nucléaire irradié des PRM dans le dépôt. Par exemple, dans le cadre des discussions sur les accords dhébergement du dépôt, la SGDN travaillera avec les collectivités hôtes potentielles afin délaborer le processus qui permettra de gérer les changements qui pourraient être apportés aux types de déchets à stocker ou à leur volume.


    En savoir plus

    Petits réacteurs modulaires

    Les nouvelles technologies nucléaires, y compris les petits réacteurs modulaires (PRM) et les très petits réacteurs modulaires (TPRM), peuvent générer différents types de combustibles irradiés. Nous suivons de près leurs progrès et nous restons en dialogue avec plusieurs promoteurs de PRM et de TPRM afin de nous préparer à répondre aux décisions qui pourraient modifier le volume et les caractéristiques des déchets dont nous devrons assurer la gestion.

    Lintérêt pour les PRM sest fortement accru au cours des dernières années, en partie en parallèle à lélaboration du Plan daction canadien pour les petits réacteurs modulaires.

    La SGDN a participé au Plan daction canadien sur les PRM et sest engagée à mettre en oeuvre trois actions :

    • Démonstration et déploiement : Concertation précoce des fournisseurs de PRM sur les spécifications techniques et les coûts;

    • Capacité, engagement et confiance du public : Concertation avec le public et les collectivités sur le combustible irradié des PRM;

    • Capacité, engagement et confiance du public : Promouvoir la diversité dans la future main-d’oeuvre des PRM.

    En date de février 2023, nous sommes au courant de deux projets de PRM en cours de processus dautorisation. Nous prévoyons que ces projets entraîneront une augmentation d’approximativement deux pour cent du volume de déchets par rapport à nos prévisions établies pour le combustible irradié CANDU. Nous sommes également au courant dautres propositions de PRM et, au fur et à mesure de leur avancement, nous apporterons les changements appropriés à nos plans.

    Questions fréquemment posées

    Voir toutes les FAQ
    Que compte faire la SGDN à propos du combustible irradié que généreraient de petits réacteurs modulaires (PRM)?
     
    La SGDN est responsable de la mise en œuvre du plan de gestion à long terme sûre du combustible nucléaire irradié canadien, y compris du combustible généré par des technologies nouvelles ou émergentes, telles que les petits réacteurs modulaires (PRM). Conformément à Loi sur les déchets de combustible nucléaire, nous devrons fournir des services de gestion des déchets de combustible nucléaire à long terme à un coût équitable et raisonnable.
     
    Au Canada, un secteur de recherche très actif explore actuellement les possibilités qu’offrent les nouvelles technologies telles que les PRM. Nous encourageons les organisations qui mettent actuellement au point de nouveaux concepts à collaborer avec nous pour déterminer quels types de déchets de combustible pourraient en résulter.
     
    Les déchets de combustible devront répondre à certains critères afin de garantir que nous serons en mesure de les recevoir et de satisfaire à toutes les exigences de sûreté. Par exemple, les déchets devront être constitués d’une matière durable et solide et pouvoir être transportés jusqu’au site. Nous devrons également avoir des informations détaillées sur certaines caractéristiques se rapportant, par exemple, à la composition, aux radionucléides, à la manutention et au temps qui s’est écoulé depuis que les déchets ont été retirés de leur réacteur.

    J’ai entendu dire que nous serons en mesure de retraiter le combustible nucléaire irradié. Pourquoi voulez-vous donc l’enfouir?

    Plusieurs études réalisées de par le monde ont conclu que les déchets de haute activité issus du retraitement du combustible devront également être confinés et isolés dans un dépôt géologique en profondeur.

     

    Si le Canada décidait un jour de retraiter son combustible, ce serait à la suite d’une décision prise conjointement par les producteurs d’énergie nucléaire, les gouvernements provinciaux concernés et le gouvernement fédéral.

     

    Si une telle décision était prise, la SGDN travaillerait avec les sociétés productrices d’électricité et les gouvernements pour assurer la gestion sûre de toutes les formes de déchets de combustible de haute activité qui pourraient être générées par ce processus. Par exemple, si les responsables déterminent qu’un type de combustible irradié sera retraité, il pourrait être réorienté à cette fin au lieu d’être placé dans le dépôt géologique en profondeur et être récupéré ultérieurement. 

     

    Pour mieux anticiper les changements qui pourraient se produire dans le secteur des cycles de combustible avancés au Canada, nous produisons chaque année un Rapport de suivi sur les nouveaux faits qui sont survenus dans ce domaine.

    Que se passera-t-il si des centrales nucléaires alimentées par d’autres types de combustible sont un jour exploitées?
    Dans le futur, les décisions que prendront les gouvernements provinciaux, les exploitants de centrales nucléaires et les autorités de réglementation concernant la production d’électricité d’origine nucléaire pourraient aboutir à une utilisation de différents types de combustible.

    Le plan canadien de gestion à long terme du combustible nucléaire irradié est suffisamment souple pour s’accommoder à différents types de combustible irradié le cas échéant. Si les exploitants de centrales nucléaires, les gouvernements et les autorités de réglementation prennent la décision d’employer un autre type de combustible, nous réexaminerons notre conception et notre dossier de sûreté et réviserons nos plans en consultation avec toutes les parties intéressées.

    La quantité et le type de combustible irradié qui sera placé dans le dépôt pour la gestion à long terme seront convenus avec la collectivité dans le cadre d’un processus d'engagement ouvert et transparent. Ce processus s’appuiera sur les meilleures informations disponibles à ce moment. Y participeront les collectivités environnantes et tous ceux qui seront intéressés et potentiellement touchés.

    Les processus d’examen réglementaire et les autorisations seront également basés sur un inventaire précis de combustible. Ils s’inscriront aussi dans un processus de consultation ouvert et transparent.
    Qu’adviendra-t-il du plan si la technologie évolue avant qu’il ait été mené à terme?
    Le plan canadien, de par sa conception, est souple et pourra s’adapter aux nouveaux acquis technologiques, aux pratiques exemplaires internationales, aux besoins exprimés par le public, aux enseignements tirés du savoir autochtone ainsi qu’à l’évolution des politiques publiques et des attentes et valeurs sociétales. La mise en oeuvre de la Gestion adaptative progressive prendra plusieurs décennies. Compte tenu de l’échelle de temps considérée, il y aura de nombreuses occasions d’affiner et de réviser les plans.

    La capacité du plan de s’adapter aux changements, le cas échéant, constituait un objectif commun, qui s’est dégagé d’un dialogue mené pendant trois ans avec des milliers de Canadiens concernant un plan de gestion à long terme du combustible nucléaire irradié.

    Plusieurs souhaitaient que le plan soit suffisamment souple pour que les générations futures puissent influer sur les décisions pendant les décennies que prendra sa mise en oeuvre. Plusieurs ont également souligné l’importance de concevoir le dépôt de façon à ce que le combustible nucléaire irradié puisse être récupéré afin de pouvoir tirer profit des progrès technologiques éventuels.

    Nous nous sommes engagés à continuer d’apprendre pour appuyer nos décisions à chaque étape.
    Qu’adviendra-t-il au plan si de nouvelles centrales nucléaires sont construites?
    Les décisions qui seront prises en matière de production d’énergie nucléaire par les gouvernements provinciaux, les exploitants de centrales nucléaires et les autorités de réglementation pourraient faire augmenter la quantité de combustible nucléaire irradié à gérer. Par exemple, la vie des réacteurs existants pourrait être prolongée par le biais de travaux de réfection. Les gouvernements provinciaux pourraient aussi décider de construire de nouvelles centrales nucléaires.

    La quantité exacte de combustible irradié qui sera stockée dans le dépôt en vue d’une gestion à long terme sera convenue avec la collectivité en fonction des meilleures données disponibles à ce moment et suivant un processus d'engagement ouvert et transparent auquel auront participé les collectivités environnantes et tous ceux qui sont intéressés et potentiellement touchés par le projet.

    Les processus d’examen et d’approbation réglementaires, qui devront être suivis en vertu de la loi avant que l’installation puisse être construite et exploitée, seront basés sur une quantité déterminée de combustible et comprendront également un processus de consultation ouvert et transparent.

    Documents connexes

    Rapport de suivi sur les cycles de combustible avancés et les technologies de remplacement pour la gestion des déchets

    Rapport de suivi sur les cycles de combustible avancés et les technologies de remplacement pour la gestion des déchets

     Petits réacteurs modulaires : la gestion du combustible irradié

    Petits réacteurs modulaires : la gestion du combustible irradié

    Au Canada, un secteur de recherche très actif explore actuellement les possibilités qu’offrent certaines nouvelles technologies, telles que les petits réacteurs modulaires (PRM), le retraitement du combustible et certains autres types de réacteurs avancés.

    Continuer la lecture

    An icon of a used fuel bundle.

    Explorer

    Le combustible nucléaire irradié canadien
    An icon of a pencil and ruler.

    Le plan canadien

    Mise en oeuvre du plan canadien