Canada's plan for the long-term management of used nuclear fuel calls for its containment and isolation in a deep geological repository. The NWMO is committed to meeting or exceeding all applicable regulatory standards and requirements for protecting the health, safety and security of people and the environment.

Environmental Protection

Canada's nuclear regulator, the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC), uses a comprehensive licensing system to ensure the environment is protected throughout the entire life cycle of a deep geological repository. It requires that adequate environmental protection policies, programs and procedures be implemented.

The CNSC can only take a licensing decision on a geologic repository after the completion of an environmental assessment, following the process established by the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act. An Environmental Assessment is a process that predicts the potential environmental effects of a proposed project before it is carried out. It incorporates environmental factors into decision-making. An environmental assessment examines:

  • Potential environmental effects
  • Mitigation measures
  • Significance of environmental effects that remain after mitigation
  • Follow-up monitoring

Impact Studies

As part of the Preliminary Assessment step in the site selection process, the NWMO will conduct a series of progressively more detailed impact studies of potential siting areas.

In Phase 1 of the Preliminary Assessment step, we completed preliminary desktop studies of environmental features and generic environmental effects in a number of potential siting areas. These studies are documented in the Phase 1 Integrated Reports. Environmental field studies are planned for communities that enter Phase 2 of this step.

Once a site has been selected, and the regulatory process for the project is formally underway, the NWMO will undertake comprehensive studies to identify the potential effects of the project on:

  • Air quality
  • Surface and groundwater quality
  • Terrestrial and aquatic environment (including plants, animals and fish)
  • Soil and geology
  • Human health
  • Use of land and resources
  • Social and economic environment
  • First Nation and Métis interests
  • Physical and cultural heritage

En vertu du plan canadien de gestion à long terme du combustible nucléaire irradié, ce combustible sera confiné et isolé dans un dépôt géologique en profondeur. La SGDN s’est engagée à respecter, voire à surpasser toutes les normes et les exigences réglementaires en vigueur en matière de protection de la santé et de la sécurité du public et de l’environnement.

Protection environnementale

L’autorité canadienne de réglementation nucléaire, la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN), utilise un système exhaustif d’autorisation pour assurer la protection de l’environnement pendant toute la durée du cycle de vie d’un dépôt géologique en profondeur. Ce système exige que des politiques, des programmes et des procédures appropriées de protection environnementale soient mis en oeuvre.

La CCSN ne pourra prendre une décision quant à l’octroi d’un permis pour un dépôt géologique qu’au terme d’une évaluation environnementale réalisée conformément au Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale. Une évaluation environnementale est un processus qui prédit quelles pourraient être les incidences environnementales d’un projet proposé avant qu’il soit réalisé. Ce processus décisionnel tient compte de facteurs environnementaux. Une évaluation environnementale examine

  • les incidences environnementales possibles
  • une fois les mesures d’atténuation appliquées
  • l’importance des incidences environnementales
  • le programme de surveillance qui s’en suit

Études des incidences

 Dans le cadre de l’étape des Évaluations préliminaires du processus de sélection d’un site, la SGDN réalisera une série d’études de plus en plus détaillées des incidences que pourrait avoir le projet sur les secteurs potentiels d’établissement.

Au cours de la Phase 1 de l’étape des Évaluations préliminaires, nous avons réalisé des études préliminaires de bureau des particularités environnementales et des incidences environnementales génériques pour un certain nombre de secteurs potentiels d’établissement. Ces études sont résumées dans les Rapports intégrés de la Phase 1. Des études environnementales sur le terrain sont prévues pour les collectivités qui participent à la Phase 2 de cette étape. 

Une fois qu’un site aura été choisi et que le processus réglementaire pour le projet sera officiellement amorcé, la SGDN entreprendra des études exhaustives qui auront pour but de déterminer les incidences que le projet pourrait avoir sur : 

  • la qualité de l’air 
  • la qualité des eaux de surface et des eaux souterraines
  • l’environnement terrestre et aquatique (y compris la végétation, la faune et les poissons) 
  • le sol et la géologie 
  • la santé humaine
  • l’utilisation du territoire et des ressources 
  • l’environnement social et économique
  • les intérêts des Premières nations et des Métis
  • le patrimoine physique et culturel