Measures to protect the public and workers from radiation and other hazards are being incorporated into all phases of the NWMO's management of used nuclear fuel. This includes the safe transport of used fuel from current storage facilities, to its inspection and repackaging at surface facilities, and its long-term placement in the deep geological repository.

We will need to demonstrate to regulatory authorities that all requirements have been met before any phase of the project can proceed.

Safety in the Deep Geological Repository

We are working to optimize repository designs to minimize the risk of exposure to radioactive materials, as well as the risk from accidents. This will be tested in part through safety assessments, which examine the behaviour of the design under both likely and unlikely scenarios.

During the placement of used fuel bundles in the repository, workers and the public will be protected through a robust design. This includes, for example, use of thick shielding, monitored ventilation systems, and minimizing the extent to which the bundles are lifted.

Once the used fuel has been placed in the repository, the repository's multiple-barrier system will ensure ongoing safety to the public and workers over the long term. 

Safety During Transport

Although still in the early stages of transportation planning, we have conducted assessments of potential radiation risk to the public and workers during shipment by both road and rail. Studies showed that the potential exposure to radiation for both the public and workers during transportation is well below the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) regulatory limit and the radiation dose received from natural sources.

Radiation Doses to the Public During Transportation

This image indicates potential individuals along the UFTP transportation route, including public at rest stops in the vicinity, public in vehicles sharing the road and travelling beside the UFTP, transportation workers, and residents along the transportation route.

Annual dose to an individual is expected to be significantly below the regulatory public dose limit.

La SGDN travaille à intégrer des mesures visant à protéger le public et les travailleurs contre les rayonnements et les autres risques à toutes ses phases de gestion du combustible nucléaire irradié. Cela comprend le transport sûr du combustible irradié depuis les installations où il est actuellement entreposé, son inspection et remballage dans les installations de surface et son stockage à long terme dans le dépôt géologique en profondeur.

Nous devrons démontrer aux autorités de réglementation que toutes les exigences ont été satisfaites avant de pouvoir entreprendre toute phase du projet. 

Sécurité sur le site du dépôt géologique en profondeur

Nous travaillons à optimiser la conception du dépôt afin de réduire au minimum les risques d’exposition aux matières radioactives ainsi que les risques d’accident. Les mesures envisagées seront éprouvées en partie par le biais d’évaluations de sûreté, qui examineront le comportement du dépôt projeté suivant une série de scénarios probables et improbables.

Pendant la mise en place des grappes de combustible irradié dans le dépôt, les travailleurs et le public seront protégés par une conception robuste. Cela pourrait inclure par exemple l'utilisation d'un blindage épais, la surveillance des systèmes de ventilation et la réduction au minimum de la mesure dans laquelle les grappes seront soulevées.

Une fois le combustible irradié placé dans le dépôt, la sécurité à long terme du public et des travailleurs sera assurée par le système à barrières multiples du dépôt. 

Sécurité pendant le transport

Bien que nous n’en sommes qu’aux premiers stades de la planification du transport, nous avons réalisé des évaluations des risques radiologiques qu’encourront le public et les travailleurs pendant les activités de transport par camion et par train. Ces évaluations ont démontré que l’exposition radiologique potentielle du public et des travailleurs pendant le transport serait nettement inférieure à la limite réglementaire fixée par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) et à la dose de rayonnements provenant de sources naturelles.

Doses de rayonnements reçues par le public pendant le transport

La dose annuelle pour une personne serait considérablement inférieure à la limite de dose réglementaire pour le public