The Nuclear Waste Management Organization (NWMO) is responsible for designing and implementing Canada's plan for the safe, long-term management of used nuclear fuel. The plan, known as Adaptive Phased Management, requires used fuel to be contained and isolated in a deep geological repository. It also calls for a comprehensive process to select an informed and willing host for the project.

The NWMO is a not-for profit organization established in 2002 by Canada’s nuclear electricity producers in accordance with the Nuclear Fuel Waste Act (NFWA). The founding members of the NWMO are Ontario Power Generation (OPG), New Brunswick Power Corporation, and Hydro-Québec (HQ). These organizations, along with Atomic Energy of Canada Limited (AECL), are mandated to fund our operations.

The NWMO is committed to proceeding in stages in an open, transparent, and inclusive manner. We take the time needed to collaboratively plan and confirm each step through an ongoing dialogue with the public.

Our team is made up of some of Canada's leading experts in fields related to nuclear waste management. We also collaborate with experts from across Canada and the world to ensure our work benefits from the best available research and experience.

The site selection process began in May 2010 and will take many years to complete. This will be followed by an estimated 10-year period to construct the facility. Subsequent phases involve the transport, handling, and placement of used nuclear fuel, followed by an extended period of monitoring.

La Société de gestion des déchets nucléaires (SGDN) est responsable de l'élaboration et la mise en oeuvre du plan canadien pour la gestion à long terme sûre du combustible nucléaire irradié. Le plan, appelé Gestion adaptative progressive, veut que le combustible irradié soit confiné et isolé dans un dépôt géologique en profondeur. Il veut également qu'il y ait un processus extensif pour sélectionner un hôte informé et consentant pour accueillir le projet.

La SGDN est un organisme à but non lucratif créé en 2002 par les producteurs canadiens d'électricité d'origine nucléaire, conformément à la Loi sur les déchets de combustible nucléaire (LDCN). Les membres fondateurs de la SGDN sont Ontario Power Generation (OPG), la Société d'énergie du Nouveau-Brunswick et Hydro-Québec (HQ). Ces organismes et Énergie atomique du Canada limitée (ÉACL) sont mandatés de financer nos activités.

La SGDN s'engage à procéder par étape de manière ouverte, transparente et inclusive. Nous prenons le temps nécessaire pour planifier ensemble et confirmer chaque étape à travers un dialogue continu avec le public.

Notre équipe est composée de certains des plus grands experts du Canada dans les domaines liés à la gestion des déchets nucléaires. Nous travaillons également avec des experts du pays et du monde entier afin de nous assurer que nos travaux bénéficient de la meilleure recherche et expérience disponibles.

Le processus de sélection d'un site a débuté en mai 2010 et il prendra plusieurs années pour s'achever. Il faudra environ 10 années pour construire l'installation par la suite. Les phases suivantes comprendront le transport, la manutention et la mise en place du combustible nucléaire irradié, suivies par une longue période de surveillance.