Engagement is one of the five fundamental values that guide the work of the NWMO. Involving interested Canadians and Aboriginal peoples at all stages is critical to meeting the challenges of the long-term management of used nuclear fuel.

We work to build sustainable relationships with interested communities, individuals and organizations. These include communities in study areas that expressed interest in learning about the project, First Nation and Métis communities in the area, neighbouring communities, and young people who one day will assume responsibility for the management of Canada’s used fuel.

An early milestone was the collaborative design of a nine-step process to select a site. In May 2010, we began step one of this process by initiating a broad program of community engagement. The goal was to provide information, answer questions, and build awareness of Canada's plan and the siting process itself.

Dialogue, collaboration and shared decision-making help ensure that Adaptive Phased Management continues to respond to the values and concerns of Canadians.

L'engagement est une des cinq valeurs fondamentales qui guident les travaux de la SGDN. Faire participer les Canadiens et les peuples autochtones intéressés à chacune des étapes est essentiel pour relever les défis associés à la gestion à long terme du combustible nucléaire irradié.

Nous travaillons à bâtir des relations durables avec les collectivités, les organisations et les particuliers intéressés. Cela inclut les collectivités des secteurs étudiés qui ont exprimé l’intérêt d’en apprendre davantage sur le projet, les collectivités des Premières nations et métisses de la région et les collectivités voisines, ainsi que les jeunes qui seront un jour responsables de la gestion du combustible irradié canadien.

Un des premiers jalons atteints fut l’élaboration en collaboration d’un processus de sélection d’un site en neuf étapes. En mai 2010, nous avons amorcé la première étape de ce processus en lançant un programme élargi de participation des collectivités. L’objectif consistait à fournir de l’information, à répondre aux questions et à sensibiliser le public au plan canadien et au processus même de sélection d’un site.

Le dialogue, la collaboration et la prise de décisions partagée contribuent à faire en sorte que la Gestion adaptative progressive continue de respecter les valeurs et les préoccupations des Canadiens.