The Government of Canada, through the Nuclear Fuel Waste Act (2002), assigned responsibility for the long-term management of Canada’s used nuclear fuel to the NWMO. The NWMO is committed to meeting or exceeding all applicable regulatory standards and requirements for protecting the health, safety, and security of people and the environment.

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) regulates the use of nuclear energy and materials to protect the health, safety, and security of Canadians and the environment. It also implements Canada's international commitments on the peaceful use of nuclear energy and disseminates objective scientific, technical and regulatory information to the public.

Regulatory Framework for a Deep Geological Repository

Implementation of a deep geological repository falls within federal jurisdiction and is regulated under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act (NSCA) and its associated regulations.

Under section 26 of the NSCA, activities associated with a nuclear facility can occur only in accordance with a licence issued by the CNSC. The repository implemented by the NWMO will be subject to the CNSC’s comprehensive licensing system, which covers the entire life cycle of the repository, from site preparation, to construction, operation, decommissioning (closure and post-closure), and abandonment (release from CNSC licensing). This stepwise approach requires a licence for each phase of the repository life cycle.

The process for obtaining a "site preparation" licence is initiated by the NWMO. The NWMO will submit an application for a Licence to Prepare Site (and possibly construct) to the CNSC. A licensing decision can be made only after the successful completion of an environmental assessment, following the process established by the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act (2012).

Regulatory Framework for Transportation

The transportation of used nuclear fuel is jointly regulated by the CNSC and Transport Canada and is subject to comprehensive regulatory oversight.

Additional Federal, Provincial and Municipal Oversight

Although the CNSC is the main licensing authority, it administers its licensing system in co-operation with other federal and provincial government departments and agencies in areas such as health, environment, transport and labour.

Relevant aspects of the NWMO's work will also comply with applicable provincial regulatory requirements. For example, some aspects of siting or construction of the project and the transportation of used nuclear fuel may be governed by provincial legislation:

  • Most provinces and territories include nuclear substances in legislation and regulations addressing the transportation of dangerous goods within that province or territory.
  • Provincial governments are responsible for protecting public health and safety, property and the environment within their borders, which often includes provincial emergency preparedness legislation.
  • Provincial governments are responsible for the regulation of resource exploration and/or extraction (e.g., drilling and underground mining) and Crown land management (e.g., disposition of provincial lands).
  • Provincial legislation requiring the assessment of potential environmental effects of an activity, plan, or program may apply to some aspects of this work. Legislation governing endangered species, environmental protection, heritage protection or preservation, water resources protection, occupational health and safety, employment standards, or labour relations may be relevant.
  • Various permits, licences and approvals will be required, and provincial policies and guidelines may be applicable at the site selection stage.
  • Municipalities, which derive their authority from provincial legislation, may have requirements such as permits, codes, standards and/or bylaws that also need to be addressed.

Le gouvernement du Canada, conformément à la Loi sur les déchets de combustible nucléaire (2002), a confié à la SGDN la responsabilité de la gestion à long terme du combustible nucléaire irradié canadien. La SGDN s’est engagée à satisfaire ou à surpasser toutes les normes et exigences réglementaires en vigueur en matière de protection de la santé, de la sûreté et de la sécurité de la population et de l’environnement.

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) réglemente l’utilisation de l’énergie et des matières nucléaires afin de protéger la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens et de l’environnement. Elle veille aussi à ce que le Canada remplisse ses engagements internationaux au regard de l’utilisation pacifique de l’énergie nucléaire et qu’il communique au public des informations scientifiques, techniques et réglementaires objectifs.

Cadre réglementaire régissant le dépôt géologique en profondeur

La mise en oeuvre d’un dépôt géologique en profondeur est de compétence fédérale et est réglementée en vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires (LSRN) et des règlements connexes.

En vertu de l’article 26 de la LSRN, les activités associées à une installation nucléaire ne peuvent avoir lieu sans l’obtention d’un permis de la CCSN. Le dépôt mis en oeuvre par la SGDN sera soumis au système exhaustif d’autorisation de la CCSN, lequel s’appliquera à tout le cycle de vie du dépôt, de la préparation du site à la construction, l'exploitation, le déclassement (fermeture et post-fermeture) et l'abandon (délivré du système d'autorisation de la CCSN). Cette approche progressive nécessitera l'obtention d'un permis à chacune des étapes du cycle de vie du dépôt.

Le processus d'obtention d'un permis de « préparation du site » sera lancé par la SGDN. La SGDN présentera une demande pour un Permis de préparation de l'emplacement (et possiblement de construction) à la CCSN. Aucune décision par la CCSN concernant le dépôt ne sera prise avant que l'évaluation environnementale n'ait été complétée avec succès, suivant le processus établi par la Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale (2012).

Cadre réglementaire régissant le transport

Le transport du combustible nucléaire irradié est réglementé conjointement par la CCSN et Transports Canada et est soumis à une surveillance réglementaire exhaustive.

Surveillance fédérale, provinciale et municipale additionnelle

Bien que la CCSN soit la principale autorité en matière d’octroi de permis, elle administre son système en coopération avec des ministères et d’autres organismes fédéraux et provinciaux responsables de domaines comme la santé, l’environnement, le transport et la main-d’oeuvre.

Les aspects pertinents des travaux de la SGDN répondront aussi à toutes les exigences réglementaires provinciales applicables. Par exemple, certains aspects de la sélection d’un site ou de la construction du dépôt et du transport du combustible nucléaire irradié peuvent être régis par des lois provinciales :

  • La plupart des provinces et territoires incluent les matières nucléaires parmi les substances dangereuses pour lesquelles le transport à l’intérieur de leurs frontières est légiféré.
  • Les gouvernements provinciaux sont responsables de la protection de la santé et de la sécurité du public, des biens ainsi que de l’environnement à l’intérieur de leur territoire, et se sont généralement dotés de lois se rapportant à la préparation aux urgences.
  • Les gouvernements provinciaux sont responsables de la réglementation de l’exploitation et extraction des ressources (p. ex., le forage et l’exploitation minière souterraine) et de la gestion des terres publiques (p. ex., allocation des terres provinciales).

  • Des lois provinciales commandant l’évaluation des incidences environnementales potentielles d’une activité, d’un plan ou d’un programme peuvent s’appliquer à des aspects de ces travaux. Certaines lois portant sur les espèces protégées, la protection environnementale, la protection ou la préservation du patrimoine, la protection des ressources en eau, la santé et la sécurité au travail, les normes d'emploi ou les relations de travail peuvent être pertinentes.
  • Divers permis, licences et approbations seront requis et des politiques et directives provinciales pourraient s’appliquer à l’étape de la sélection d'un site.
  • Les municipalités, qui tirent leur autorité des lois provinciales, peuvent également avoir des exigences à tenir en compte, telles que des permis, codes, normes ou règlements.