Since our inception, the NWMO has been working in partnership with specialists and the public in the design and implementation of Canadas plan for the long-term management of used nuclear fuel.
 
We are committed to building sustainable, long-term relationships with interested and potentially affected individuals and communities. This includes communities that expressed an interest in learning about the project, First Nation and Métis communities in the area, and surrounding municipalities. We also place a strong importance on engaging youth.
 
Our technical program benefits from ongoing partnerships with technical and scientific specialists and organizations around the globe, as well as our sister organizations in many countries.
 
Looking ahead, we will continue to pursue a broad range of partnerships as we advance through the site selection process and enter into the construction and operational phases of the project.

Exploring Partnerships

The NWMO and communities are beginning more detailed discussions on how to advance learning and build the sustainable partnerships that would be required to support the implementation of Canada’s plan for the safe, long-term management of used nuclear fuel.

The NWMO has outlined a multi-step road map to guide these partnership discussions. The road map focuses on exploring the potential to advance the project in partnership with people in the area, while putting in place a framework to implement the project if a preferred site were identified in that area.

Road map to partnership (2017-2022)

Image shows partnership steps written out in text.

Depuis notre création, la SGDN a travaillé en partenariat avec des spécialistes et le public à l’élaboration et à la mise en oeuvre du plan canadien de gestion à long terme du combustible nucléaire irradié.

Nous sommes engagés à développer des relations viables et durables avec les personnes et les collectivités intéressées et potentiellement touchées. Cela comprend les collectivités qui ont exprimé l’intérêt d’en apprendre davantage sur le projet, les collectivités des Premières Nations et métisses de la région et les municipalités environnantes. Nous accordons aussi une grande importance à la participation des jeunes.

Notre programme technique bénéficie de partenariats soutenus avec des spécialistes et des organisations techniques et scientifiques du monde entier et avec nos organisations homologues de plusieurs autres pays.

Nous continuerons d’établir et d’entretenir un large éventail de partenariats à mesure que nous progresserons dans le processus de sélection d’un site et que nous amorcerons les phases de construction et d’exploitation du projet.

Explorer la possibilité de créer des partenariats

La SGDN et plusieurs collectivités amorcent des discussions plus détaillées sur les moyens qui peuvent être pris pour favoriser l’apprentissage et créer les partenariats qui seraient nécessaires pour soutenir la mise en oeuvre du plan canadien de gestion à long terme sûre du combustible nucléaire irradié.

 

La SGDN a établi une feuille de route en plusieurs étapes pour guider ces discussions en matière de partenariats. Cette feuille de route vise à explorer la possibilité de faire progresser le projet en partenariat avec les gens de la région et à mettre en place le cadre requis pour réaliser le projet dans le cas où un site optimal était choisi dans la région.

 

Feuille de route vers des partenariats (2017 à 2022)