In 2002, the Board of Directors established an Advisory Council as required by the Nuclear Fuel Waste Act (NFWA).

The Council is an independent and arms-length body comprised of individuals knowledgeable in the management of used nuclear fuel, and in working with people and communities on difficult public policy issues.

As the NWMO’s work leads to the selection of a suitable site, and as affected Aboriginal organizations and the host region are identified, the NFWA requires that representatives from these communities be included in the Advisory Council. 

The Advisory Council's role is to:

  • Ensure that the views of the public and communities of interest are considered and reflected in a thoughtful, balanced way in the proposed approaches and reports of the NWMO; and
  • Assist the NWMO in ensuring that its processes are of good quality, and are open, transparent, thorough, and sound. 

The Advisory Council provides advice and views on how we discharge our responsibilities. Their work is made public through Study Reports and Triennial Reports to government. In January 2005, the Council published a statement on how it intends to fulfill its mandate.

How the Advisory Council of the Nuclear Waste Management Organization Intends to Fulfill its Mandate

Members of the Advisory Council


This image is of the Honourable David Crombie, Chair of the NWMO Advisory Council.

David Crombie

  • Chair

The Honourable David Crombie is the President of David Crombie and Associates, the Chair of Toronto Lands Corporation, and past Chair of Ontario Place. He is the immediate past President and CEO of the Canadian Urban Institute. He is also a past mayor of the City of Toronto and a Privy Councillor. Mr. Crombie was the first Chancellor of Ryerson University and is the recipient of honorary doctorates of law from the University of Toronto and the University of Waterloo. Mr. Crombie is an Officer of the Order of Canada and the Order of Ontario.
This image is of Dr. David Cameron, a member of the NWMO Advisory Council.

David R. Cameron

Dr. David Cameron, a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, is a Professor of Political Science at the University of Toronto. His professional career has been divided between public service – in Ottawa and at Queen’s Park, Ontario – and academic life. A longtime student of Canadian federalism and Quebec nationalism, he has turned his attention to constitution-making and government design in conflict and post-conflict situations in Sri Lanka, Iraq, Somalia, the Western Sahara, and Jerusalem. He is currently the Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Science at the University of Toronto.
This image is of Joseph Cavalancia, a member of the NWMO Advisory Council.

Joseph Cavalancia

Mr. Joseph Cavalancia, a Chartered Professional Accountant, has more than 35 years’ experience in the area of financial management, and has been responsible for financial controls, treasury, risk management, and taxation, among other activities. Holding a Bachelor of Business Administration from HEC Montréal and a Management Diploma from McGill University, Mr. Cavalancia has spent most of his career in the private sector, mainly in the engineering and construction fields. He has extensive experience as a senior executive in both private and public companies.
This image is of Dean Jacobs, a member of the NWMO Advisory Council.

Dean Jacobs

Dean Jacobs is the Consultation Manager for Walpole Island First Nation (WIFN). For the past 42 years, he has been the driving force behind WIFN’s internationally acclaimed community-based research program called Nin.Da.Waab.Jig. (those who seek to find). He is a member of the International Joint Commission’s Great Lakes Water Quality Board. Mr. Jacobs is a former Chief of WIFN, and is the recipient of two eagle feathers and three honorary doctorate degrees.
This image is of Diane M. Kelly, a member of the NWMO Advisory Council.

Diane M. Kelly

Ms. Diane M. Kelly is an experienced leader, visionary and strongly committed to empowering decision-making through Traditional Governance.  Ms. Kelly inherently believes that forging strong alliances can be achieved by working together. She became the first Anishinaabe woman lawyer in the Treaty #3 Nation. She has extensive experience in First Nations governance, board training, land claims research and development, treaty negotiations, education policies, and all aspects of child welfare. She specializes in facilitating conflict resolution through creative strategies and empowerment. As the first woman Grand Chief of Treaty #3 from 2008 until 2012, she honourably carried the responsibility of protecting, preserving and enhancing Treaty Rights for 28 First Nation communities in 55,000 square miles of Treaty 3 territory in northwestern Ontario and southeastern Manitoba.

This image is of Eva Ligeti, a member of the NWMO Advisory Council.

Eva Ligeti

Ms. Eva Ligeti teaches Environmental Law and Policy in the graduate program in Environmental Science at the University of Toronto. As the Executive Director of the Clean Air Partnership, she worked to make Toronto more environmentally sustainable and a world leader in clean air. A lawyer, she served as Ontario’s first Environmental Commissioner from 1994 to 1999. Ms. Ligeti has served on numerous boards and committees, including the Council of the Federation of Canadian Municipalities’ Green Municipal Fund, as a member of the Province of Ontario’s Expert Panel on Climate Change Adaptation, and as a co-chair of the Greening Greater Toronto Task Force.
This image is of Dr. Derek Lister, a member of the NWMO Advisory Council.

Derek Lister

Dr. Derek Lister is Professor Emeritus in the Chemical Engineering Department at the University of New Brunswick in Fredericton, where he also holds the Research Chair in Nuclear Engineering. His main research interests are in chemistry and corrosion associated with nuclear and other power systems, areas in which he has published widely. He holds positions on a number of national and international committees advising government and industry.
This image is of Dr. Dougal McCreath, a member of the NWMO Advisory Council.

Dougal McCreath

Dr. Dougal McCreath is Professor Emeritus in the Bharti School of Engineering at Laurentian University in Sudbury, Ontario. A Fellow of both the Engineering Institute of Canada and of the Canadian Academy of Engineering, he has wide teaching, research and international consulting interests, ranging from the design of deep underground excavations to the recovery and sustainability of damaged ecosystems. He has served on two Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency review panels dealing with nuclear related issues.
This image is of Dr. Donald Obonsawin, a member of the NWMO Advisory Council.

Donald Obonsawin

Mr. Donald Obonsawin is the founder and President of DIRECTIONS, a management consulting company that provides policy, management and strategic planning services. From 2003 to 2007, he was President and CEO of Jonview Canada Inc. Previous to that, he enjoyed a 25-year career in both the provincial and federal public services, including 15 years as Deputy Minister of seven Ontario government ministries. He also held senior positions with the federal departments of Indian Affairs and Northern Development Canada, and Health and Welfare Canada. Mr. Obonsawin is a member of the Abenaki First Nation of Odanak.
This image is of Linda Thompson, a member of the NWMO Advisory Council.

Linda Thompson

With 25 years’ management experience, Linda Thompson was first elected to the Municipality of Port Hope Council in 2000, serving as Councillor and Deputy Mayor, then as Mayor from 2006 to 2014. Port Hope is one of the world’s oldest nuclear communities, home to Cameco Corporation’s conversion and fuel manufacturing facilities, and the site of Canada’s largest federal cleanup of Low Level Radioactive Waste. In her time as Mayor, Ms. Thompson was an active member of the Canadian Association of Nuclear Host Communities (CANHC), Mayors Nuclear Technology Caucus (MNTC), and the NWMO Municipal Forum.

Letters to the Minister of Natural Resources

The Advisory Council makes public the letters it sends to the Minister of Natural Resources. These letters contain an overview of their activities and observations during the previous year.

Advisory Council: Tracking Matrices

The Advisory Council asks the NWMO to produce a tracking matrix each year. The matrix summarizes the Council’s recommendations and how the NWMO acted on that advice.

We also develop matrices to summarize the status of our responses to Advisory Council recommendations that appear in our Triennial Reports.

The information is made public to ensure transparency.

Advisory Council: Records of Discussion – 2016

Following each meeting of the Advisory Council, a record of discussion is prepared. At the request of the Council, these records are made public in the spirit of sharing the focus of their discussions.

Advisory Council: Records of Discussion – 2015

Following each meeting of the Advisory Council, a record of discussion is prepared. At the request of the Council, these records are made public in the spirit of sharing the focus of their discussions.

Advisory Council: Records of Discussion – 2014

Following each meeting of the Advisory Council, a record of discussion is prepared. At the request of the Council, these records are made public in the spirit of sharing the focus of their discussions.

Advisory Council: Records of Discussion – 2013

Following each meeting of the Advisory Council, a record of discussion is prepared. At the request of the Council, these records are made public in the spirit of sharing the focus of their discussions.

Advisory Council: Records of Discussion – 2012

Following each meeting of the Advisory Council, a record of discussion is prepared. At the request of the Council, these records are made public in the spirit of sharing the focus of their discussions.

Advisory Council: Records of Discussion – 2011

Following each meeting of the Advisory Council, a record of discussion is prepared. At the request of the Council, these records are made public in the spirit of sharing the focus of their discussions.

Advisory Council: Records of Discussion – 2010

Following each meeting of the Advisory Council, a record of discussion is prepared. At the request of the Council, these records are made public in the spirit of sharing the focus of their discussions.

Advisory Council: Records of Discussion – 2009

Following each meeting of the Advisory Council, a record of discussion is prepared. At the request of the Council, these records are made public in the spirit of sharing the focus of their discussions.

Advisory Council: Records of Discussion – 2008

Following each meeting of the Advisory Council, a record of discussion is prepared. At the request of the Council, these records are made public in the spirit of sharing the focus of their discussions.

Advisory Council: Records of Discussion – 2007

Following each meeting of the Advisory Council, a record of discussion is prepared. At the request of the Council, these records are made public in the spirit of sharing the focus of their discussions.

Advisory Council: Records of Discussion – 2006

Following each meeting of the Advisory Council, a record of discussion is prepared. At the request of the Council, these records are made public in the spirit of sharing the focus of their discussions.

Advisory Council: Records of Discussion – 2005

Following each meeting of the Advisory Council, a record of discussion is prepared. At the request of the Council, these records are made public in the spirit of sharing the focus of their discussions.

Advisory Council: Records of Discussion – 2004

Following each meeting of the Advisory Council, a record of discussion is prepared. At the request of the Council, these records are made public in the spirit of sharing the focus of their discussions.

Advisory Council: Records of Discussion – 2003

Following each meeting of the Advisory Council, a record of discussion is prepared. At the request of the Council, these records are made public in the spirit of sharing the focus of their discussions.

Advisory Council: Records of Discussion – 2002

Following each meeting of the Advisory Council, a record of discussion is prepared. At the request of the Council, these records are made public in the spirit of sharing the focus of their discussions.

En 2002, le Conseil d’administration a établi le Conseil consultatif, conformément à la Loi sur les déchets de combustible nucléaire (LDCN).

Les membres qui composent le Conseil consultatif possèdent de solides compétences en gestion du combustible nucléaire irradié et en collaboration avec les gens et les collectivités sur des questions de politique publique complexes.

À mesure que les travaux de la SGDN progressent vers le choix d’un site propice et que les organisations autochtones touchées et la région hôte sont identifiées, la LDCN exigera que le Conseil consultatif compte des représentants de ces collectivités.

Le rôle du Conseil consultatif consiste à :

  • veiller à ce que, dans ses propositions d'approches et ses rapports, la SGDN tienne compte de l’opinion du public et des collectivités d’intérêts, et les reflète de manière équilibrée et réfléchie;
  • aider la SGDN à faire en sorte que ses processus soient de bonne qualité, ouverts, transparents, compréhensifs et solides.

Le Conseil consultatif fournit des conseils et des avis sur la façon dont nous nous acquittons de nos responsabilités. Leur travail est rendu public par le biais de rapports d’étude et de rapports triennaux présentés au gouvernement. En janvier 2005, le Conseil consultatif a publié une déclaration sur la façon dont elle entendait s’acquitter de son mandat.

La façon dont le Conseil consultatif de la Société de gestion des déchets nucléaires compte s'acquitter de son mandat

Membres du Conseil consultatif


Cette image figure l

David Crombie

  • Président du Conseil consultatif

L’honorable David Crombie est président de David Crombie and Associates, président du Conseil d’administration de la Toronto Lands Corporation et ancien président du Conseil d’Ontario Place. Il fut président et chef de la direction de l’Institut urbain du Canada. Ancien maire de Toronto et membre du Conseil privé, M. Crombie a été le premier chancelier de l’Université Ryerson et est titulaire de doctorats honorifiques en droit qui lui ont été décernés par l’Université de Toronto et l’Université de Waterloo. M. Crombie est Officier de l’Ordre du Canada et de l’Ordre de l’Ontario.

Cette image figure David Cameron, un membre du Conseil consultatif de la SGDN.

David R. Cameron

M. David Cameron, membre de la Société royale du Canada, est professeur de sciences politiques à l’Université de Toronto. Sa carrière professionnelle s’est partagée entre des charges dans l’administration publique – à Ottawa et à Queen’s Park, en Ontario – et l’enseignement universitaire. Intéressé depuis longtemps à l’étude du fédéralisme canadien et du nationalisme québécois, il a plus récemment porté son attention sur les processus constitutionnels liés aux situations de conflit et d’après-conflit du Sri Lanka, de l’Iraq, de la Somalie, du Sahara-Occidental et de Jérusalem. Il est actuellement doyen de la Faculté des arts et des sciences de l’Université de Toronto.

Cette image figure Joseph Cavalancia, un membre du Conseil consultatif de la SGDN.

Joseph Cavalancia

M. Joseph Cavalancia, comptable professionnel agréé, possède plus de 35 années d’expérience dans le domaine de la gestion financière et a été responsable notamment des services du contrôle financier, de la trésorerie, de la gestion des risques et de la fiscalité. Titulaire d’un baccalauréat en administration publique de HEC Montréal ainsi que d’un diplôme de gestion de l’Université McGill, M. Cavalancia a passé la majeure partie de sa carrière dans le secteur privé, principalement dans les domaines du génie et de la construction. Il a acquis une grande expérience en qualité de cadre supérieur tant au sein de sociétés privées que publiques.
Cette image figure Dean Jacobs, un membre du Conseil consultatif de la SGDN.

Dean Jacobs

Dean Jacobs est le responsable des consultations de la Première nation de Walpole Island (WIFN). Au cours des 42 dernières années, il a été l’élément moteur du programme de recherche communautaire internationalement reconnu de la WIFN, appelé Nin.Da.Waab.Jig. (ceux qui tentent de trouver). Il est membre du Conseil de la qualité de l’eau des Grands Lacs de la Commission mixte internationale. M. Jacobs a été chef de la WIFN et a reçu deux plumes d’aigle et trois doctorats honorifiques.

Cette image figure Diane M. Kelly, un membre du Conseil consultatif de la SGDN.

Diane Kelly

Mme Diane M. Kelly est un chef de file d’expérience et visionnaire. Elle est fermement résolue à promouvoir l’accès au pouvoir décisionnel par le biais de la gouvernance traditionnelle. Mme Kelly estime que des alliances solides peuvent se nouer dans le cadre d’une coopération sincère. Elle est devenue la première avocate anishinaabe de la Première nation du Traité no 3. Elle possède une vaste expérience de l’exercice de la gouvernance au sein des Premières nations, de la formation des membres de conseils, de la recherche-développement en matière de revendications territoriales, de la négociation de traités, de la mise en oeuvre de politiques d’éducation et de tous les aspects liés au bien-être de l’enfant. Elle est spécialisée dans la résolution de litiges par l’application de stratégies novatrices et du principe de la responsabilisation. Première femme à avoir assumé la fonction de Grand chef de la Première nation du Traité no 3, mandat qu’elle a exercé de 2008 à 2012, elle s’est honorablement acquittée de ses responsabilités en veillant à la protection, à la préservation et à l’amélioration des droits issus de traités de 28 collectivités des Premières nations visées par le Traité no 3 dont les territoires s’étendent sur une superficie de 55 000 milles carrés au nord-ouest de l’Ontario et au sud-est du Manitoba.
Cette image figure Eva Ligeti, un membre du Conseil consultatif de la SGDN.

Eva Ligeti

Mme Eva Ligeti enseigne le droit et la politique de l’environnement au programme d’études supérieures en sciences environnementales de l’Université de Toronto. À titre de directrice administrative du Clean Air Partnership, elle a travaillé à faire de Toronto une ville plus respectueuse de l’environnement et une chef de file mondiale de la qualité de l’air. Avocate de formation, elle a été la première commissaire à l’environnement de l’Ontario, poste qu’elle a occupé de 1994 à 1999. Mme Ligeti a fait partie de plusieurs conseils d’administration et comités, dont le Conseil du Fonds municipal vert de la Fédération canadienne des municipalités et le Comité d’experts sur l’adaptation au changement climatique de l’Ontario, et elle a été coprésidente du Greening Greater Toronto Task Force.

Cette image figure Derek Lister, un membre du Conseil consultatif de la SGDN.

Derek Lister

M. Derek Lister est professeur émérite au Département de génie chimique de l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick à Fredericton, où il est également titulaire de la chaire de recherche en génie nucléaire. Ses recherches se rapportent principalement aux domaines de la chimie et de la corrosion des systèmes nucléaires et autres systèmes de production électrique, auxquels il a consacré de nombreuses publications. Il fait partie de plusieurs comités nationaux et internationaux conseillant les gouvernements et l’industrie.

Cette image figure Dougal McCreath, un membre du Conseil consultatif de la SGDN.

Dougal McCreath

M. Dougal McCreath est professeur émérite à la Bharti School of Engineering de l’Université Laurentienne à Sudbury, en Ontario. Membre à la fois de l’Institut canadien des ingénieurs et de l’Académie canadienne du génie, il a acquis une vaste expérience en enseignement, en recherche et en consultation internationale, dans des domaines allant de la conception d’excavations en profondeur au rétablissement de la pérennité des écosystèmes endommagés. Il a fait partie de deux groupes d’experts de l’Agence canadienne d’évaluation environnementale chargés d’étudier des questions reliées à l’énergie nucléaire.

Cette image figure Donald Obonsawin, un membre du Conseil consultatif de la SGDN.

Donald Obonsawin

M. Donald Obonsawin est le fondateur et le président de DIRECTIONS, un cabinet d’experts-conseils en gestion qui fournit des services en matière de politiques, de gestion et de planification stratégique. De 2003 à 2007, il a été président et chef de la direction de Jonview Canada Inc. Auparavant, il a fait carrière pendant 25 ans au sein de la fonction publique provinciale et fédérale, y compris pendant 15 ans à titre de sous-ministre de sept ministères ontariens. Il a aussi occupé des postes de haut fonctionnaire fédéral, notamment au ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien et au ministère de la Santé et du Bien-être social. M. Obonsawin est membre de la Première nation abénakis d’Odanak.

Cette image figure Linda Thompson, un membre du Conseil consultatif de la SGDN.

Linda Thompson

Cumulant 25 années d’expérience en gestion, Mme Linda Thompson a été élue pour la première fois au conseil municipal de Port Hope en 2000, assumant les fonctions de conseillère et d’adjointe au maire, puis de mairesse, de 2006 à 2014. Port Hope, une des plus anciennes collectivités hôtes d’installations nucléaires, est le domicile des usines de conversion et de fabrication de combustible de la société Cameco et le site de la plus importante opération fédérale de nettoyage de déchets de faible radioactivité au Canada. Alors qu’elle était mairesse, Mme Thompson s’est impliquée activement comme membre de la Canadian Association of Nuclear Host Communities (CANHC), du Mayors Nuclear Technology Caucus (MNTC) et du Forum municipal de la SGDN.

Lettres au ministre des Ressources naturelles

Le Conseil consultatif rend public les lettres qu’il envoie au ministre des Ressources naturelles. Ces lettres contiennent un survol de leurs activités et observations au cours de l’année précédente.

Conseil consultatif : Matrices de suivi

Le Conseil consultatif demande à la SGDN de produire une matrice de suivi chaque année. La matrice résume les recommandations du Conseil et la façon par laquelle la SGDN a donné suite à ces avis.

Nous avons également élaboré des matrices pour résumer l’état de nos réponses aux recommandations du Conseil consultatif qui se trouvent dans nos Rapports triennaux.

L’information est rendue publique pour assurer la transparence.

Conseil consultatif : Procès-verbaux – 2016

À la suite de chaque réunion du Conseil consultatif, un procès-verbal est rédigé. À la demande du Conseil, ces procès-verbaux sont publiés dans un esprit de partage de la portée de leurs discussions.

Conseil consultatif : Procès-verbaux – 2015

À la suite de chaque réunion du Conseil consultatif, un procès-verbal est rédigé. À la demande du Conseil, ces procès-verbaux sont publiés dans un esprit de partage de la portée de leurs discussions. 

Conseil consultatif : Procès-verbaux – 2014

À la suite de chaque réunion du Conseil consultatif, un procès-verbal est rédigé. À la demande du Conseil, ces procès-verbaux sont publiés dans un esprit de partage de la portée de leurs discussions. 

Conseil consultatif : Procès-verbaux – 2013

À la suite de chaque réunion du Conseil consultatif, un procès-verbal est rédigé. À la demande du Conseil, ces procès-verbaux sont publiés dans un esprit de partage de la portée de leurs discussions. 

Conseil consultatif : Procès-verbaux – 2012 

À la suite de chaque réunion du Conseil consultatif, un procès-verbal est rédigé. À la demande du Conseil, ces procès-verbaux sont publiés dans un esprit de partage de la portée de leurs discussions. 

Conseil consultatif : Procès-verbaux – 2011

À la suite de chaque réunion du Conseil consultatif, un procès-verbal est rédigé. À la demande du Conseil, ces procès-verbaux sont publiés dans un esprit de partage de la portée de leurs discussions. 

Conseil consultatif : Procès-verbaux – 2010

À la suite de chaque réunion du Conseil consultatif, un procès-verbal est rédigé. À la demande du Conseil, ces procès-verbaux sont publiés dans un esprit de partage de la portée de leurs discussions. 

Conseil consultatif : Procès-verbaux – 2009

À la suite de chaque réunion du Conseil consultatif, un procès-verbal est rédigé. À la demande du Conseil, ces procès-verbaux sont publiés dans un esprit de partage de la portée de leurs discussions. 

Conseil consultatif : Procès-verbaux – 2008

À la suite de chaque réunion du Conseil consultatif, un procès-verbal est rédigé. À la demande du Conseil, ces procès-verbaux sont publiés dans un esprit de partage de la portée de leurs discussions. 

Conseil consultatif : Procès-verbaux – 2007

À la suite de chaque réunion du Conseil consultatif, un procès-verbal est rédigé. À la demande du Conseil, ces procès-verbaux sont publiés dans un esprit de partage de la portée de leurs discussions. 

Conseil consultatif : Procès-verbaux – 2006

À la suite de chaque réunion du Conseil consultatif, un procès-verbal est rédigé. À la demande du Conseil, ces procès-verbaux sont publiés dans un esprit de partage de la portée de leurs discussions. 

Conseil consultatif : Procès-verbaux – 2005

À la suite de chaque réunion du Conseil consultatif, un procès-verbal est rédigé. À la demande du Conseil, ces procès-verbaux sont publiés dans un esprit de partage de la portée de leurs discussions. 

Conseil consultatif : Procès-verbaux – 2004

À la suite de chaque réunion du Conseil consultatif, un procès-verbal est rédigé. À la demande du Conseil, ces procès-verbaux sont publiés dans un esprit de partage de la portée de leurs discussions. 

Conseil consultatif : Procès-verbaux – 2003

À la suite de chaque réunion du Conseil consultatif, un procès-verbal est rédigé. À la demande du Conseil, ces procès-verbaux sont publiés dans un esprit de partage de la portée de leurs discussions.

Conseil consultatif : Procès-verbaux – 2002

À la suite de chaque réunion du Conseil consultatif, un procès-verbal est rédigé. À la demande du Conseil, ces procès-verbaux sont publiés dans un esprit de partage de la portée de leurs discussions.