Canada has been generating electricity from nuclear power for more than half a century. Used nuclear fuel is a by-product of this process.

What Is Used Nuclear Fuel?

Nuclear reactors in Canada are fuelled by natural uranium. The uranium is formed into ceramic pellets made from uranium dioxide powder and encased in zircaloy tubes called fuel pencils. These are welded together into bundles the shape of a fireplace log. Each bundle weighs approximately 24 kilograms. Each bundle is made of a strong, corrosion-resistant metal, called zircaloy.

Canadian used nuclear fuel is not a liquid or a gas - it is a stable solid. Under Canadian and international regulations, it is not classified as flammable, explosive or fissile material.

Before being loaded into a reactor, the radiation hazards associated with unirradiated fuel bundles are relatively low. Radiation dose from unirradiated fuel bundles is about 0.05 mSv/h.This means the fuel can be safely handled without special equipment before it is used in the reactor.

When operational in a nuclear reactor, each fuel bundle can generate enough electricity to power up to 100 homes for a year. Once a nuclear fuel bundle has been used to generate electricity, it is removed from the reactor. Physically, the bundle looks the same as when it went in. However, it is now considered a waste product. It is radioactive and remains in this state for a long period of time. Used fuel must be contained and isolated from people and the environment – essentially indefinitely.

The NWMO has a legal obligation to provide long-term management of Canada’s used nuclear fuel. This includes the used fuel bundles that exist now, as well as those produced in the future.

Le Canada produit de l’électricité d’origine nucléaire depuis plus d’un demi-siècle. Le combustible nucléaire irradié est un sous-produit de cette activité.

Qu’est-ce que le combustible nucléaire irradié?

Les réacteurs nucléaires au Canada s’alimentent à l’uranium naturel. L’uranium est formé en pastilles de céramique produites à partie d’une poudre de dioxyde d’uranium, lesquelles sont enchâssées dans des tubes en zircaloy appelés crayons de combustible. Ces derniers sont soudés ensemble en grappes qui ont la forme d’une bûche pour le foyer. Chaque grappe pèse approximativement 24 kilogrammes. Chaque grappe est faite d’un métal robuste résistant à la corrosion appelé zircaloy.

Avant qu’elles soient placées dans un réacteur, les grappes de combustible ne sont pas irradiées et les risques radiologiques qui y sont associés sont relativement faibles. Le débit de dose émis par une grappe de combustible non irradiée est de l’ordre de 0,05 mSv/h, ce qui suppose que le combustible peut être manipulé de manière sécuritaire sans équipement spécial avant son emploi dans un réacteur.

Lorsqu’elle est utilisée dans un réacteur nucléaire, chaque grappe de combustible produit suffisamment d’électricité pour alimenter jusqu’à 100 maisons pendant une année. Une fois qu’une grappe de combustible nucléaire a été utilisée pour produire de l’électricité, elle est retirée du réacteur. Elle présente alors la même apparence physique qu’elle avait avant d’être insérée dans le réacteur. Elle est toutefois maintenant considérée comme un déchet. Elle est radioactive et le demeurera pendant une très longue période. Le combustible irradié devra être confiné et isolé du public et de l’environnement de manière essentiellement indéfinie.

La SGDN a l’obligation légale d’assurer la gestion à long terme du combustible nucléaire irradié canadien, qu’il s’agisse des grappes de combustible irradié qui existent déjà ou de celles qui seront produites dans le futur.