The NWMO’s governance comprises the Member organizations, the Board of Directors, and its Advisory Council. We are subject to the requirements of the Nuclear Fuel Waste Act (NFWA) and oversight by the Minister of Natural Resources Canada.

The NWMO’s implementation of a repository as part of Adaptive Phased Management (APM) will be regulated under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and its associated regulations to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment, and to respect Canada’s international commitments on the peaceful use of nuclear energy.

A licensing decision by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) on an APM repository can only be taken after the successful completion of the environmental assessment conducted under the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, 2012.

All aspects of the NWMO’s work will meet or exceed all applicable regulatory standards and requirements for protecting the health, safety and security of humans and the environment.

Member Organizations

Ontario Power Generation, New Brunswick Power Corporation and Hydro-Québec are the founding Members of the NWMO. The Membership Agreement and bylaws set out Member roles and responsibilities in supporting the objectives of the NFWA and the NWMO’s implementation mandate. The NWMO regularly briefs our member organizations.

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is responsible for oversight of the organization and taking a leadership role in the development of the corporation’s strategic direction. Its members have the skills and experience needed to oversee the managerial, financial and operational activities associated with the long-term management of used nuclear fuel.

The member organizations appoint the Board of Directors.

Advisory Council

The NFWA requires that the NWMO's Board of Directors appoints an Advisory Council to review and comment on our work as part of our triennial reports. The Board continues to ensure appointments remain consistent with the requirements of the NFWA, and take into account the range of expertise required to support the regional and local activity associated with site selection.

Management System

In 2009, the NWMO established our integrated management system. It ensures the organization is well equipped to support the long-term management of used nucler fuel in a manner that safeguards people and respects the environment, now and in the future. As part of our plan to ensure excellence and accountability in governance, we obtained certifications to ISO 9001:2008 for quality, ISO 14001:2004 for environment, and CSA Z1000:2006 for health and safety management.

In addition to maintaining conformance to these standards, the NWMO's management system was extended to meet the requirements of CSA N286-12 Management System Requirements for Nuclear Facilities, which includes nuclear waste facilities.

Independent Technical Reviews

The NWMO will continue to seek external expert review and comment on our technical program. As the technical program moves from research into design, fabrication and demonstration, the nature of the technical reviews will be more focused to the specific design aspects and features. The results of these reviews will help guide the technical program and inform NWMO stakeholders. 

Peer Reviews

The NWMO will continue to seek opportunities for peer review of our work and to invite independent comment. The Adaptive Phased Management Geoscientific Review Group (APM-GRG) is an example. This will benefit program design and delivery, contribute to overall program quality, and help to enhance public confidence in the NWMO’s implementation plans and decision-making.


The NWMO maintains high standards of reporting to demonstrate integrity, excellence, engagement, accountability, and transparency in the implementation of APM. The NWMO reports regularly on our progress, and especially in response to the advice of Canadians and the changing external environment.

The NFWA requires the NWMO to issue annual reports and triennial reports. These reports are submitted to the Minister of Natural Resources Canada and to the public at the same time. The Minister must table the reports in Parliament and issue a statement on each report.

International Commitments

The NWMO reports internationally on our progress at meetings of the Joint Convention on the Safety of Spent Fuel Management and on the Safety of Radioactive Waste Management (Joint Convention). Under the Joint Convention, Canada must demonstrate that it is meeting international commitments to manage radioactive waste and used nuclear fuel safely.

La gouvernance de la SGDN comprend les organisations membres, le Conseil d’administration et son Conseil consultatif. Nous nous conformons aux exigences de la Loi sur les déchets de combustible nucléaire (LDCN) et agissons sous la surveillance du ministre des Ressources naturelles Canada.

La mise en oeuvre par la SGDN d’un dépôt pour la Gestion adaptative progressive (GAP) sera réglementée conformément à la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires et ses règlements d’application pour protéger la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens et l’environnement et respecter les engagements internationaux du Canada à l’égard de l’utilisation pacifique de l’énergie nucléaire.

Aucune décision sur le dépôt de la GAP ne sera prise par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) avant que ne soit réalisée avec succès l’évaluation environnementale exigée par la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale (2012).

Tous les aspects des travaux de la SGDN satisferont aux normes et exigences réglementaires en vigueur en matière de protection de la santé, de la sûreté et de la sécurité des humains et de l’environnement, ou les dépasseront.

Sociétés membres

Ontario Power Generation, la Société d’énergie du Nouveau-Brunswick et Hydro-Québec sont les membres fondateurs de la SGDN. La convention d’affiliation et les règlements généraux définissent les rôles et les responsabilités des membres pour soutenir les objectifs de la LDCN et le mandat de mise en oeuvre de la SGDN. La SGDN fait rapport régulièrement à nos sociétés membres.

Conseil d'administration

Le Conseil d’administration est chargé de superviser la SGDN et de diriger l’élaboration de ses orientations stratégiques. Ses membres ont les compétences et l'expérience requises pour superviser les activités de gestion, financières et opérationnelles associées à la gestion à long terme du combustible nucléaire irradié.

Les membres du Conseil d’administration sont nommés par les sociétés membres.

Conseil consultatif

En vertu de la LDCN, l’organe dirigeant de la SGDN s’adjoint un Conseil consultatif destiné à examiner et commenter nos travaux dans le cadre de nos rapports triennaux. Le Conseil d’administration de la SGDN continue de veiller à ce que les nominations répondent aux exigences de la LDCN et tient également compte des domaines d’expertise requis pour appuyer les activités régionales et locales associées à la sélection d’un site.

Système de gestion

En 2009, la SGDN a mis sur pied notre système de gestion intégré. Il fait en sorte que l'organisation est bien équipée pour soutenir la gestion à long terme du combustible nucléaire irradié d'une façon qui protège la population et respecte l'environnement, maintenant et pour l'avenir. Dans le cadre de notre plan pour assurer l'excellence et la responsabilité dans notre gouvernance, nous avons obtenu notre certification aux normes ISO 9001:2008 pour la qualité, ISO 14001:2004 pour l'environnement et CSA Z1000:2006 pour la gestion de la santé et de la sûreté.

En plus de maintenir notre conformité à ces normes, le système de gestion de la SGDN a été amélioré pour répondre aux exigences de la norme CSA N286-12, Exigences relatives au système de gestion des installations nucléaires, qui comprend les installations de gestion de déchets nucléaires.

Examens techniques indépendants

La SGDN continuera de solliciter des avis et des commentaires sur son programme technique de la part d’experts externes. Alors que le programme technique passera de la recherche à la conception, à la fabrication et à la démonstration, la nature des examens techniques portera davantage sur les aspects et caractéristiques d’ordre conceptuel. Les résultats de ces examens contribueront à orienter le programme technique et à informer les parties prenantes.

Examens par des pairs

La SGDN continuera de soumettre nos travaux à l’examen par des pairs et à solliciter des commentaires indépendants. Le Groupe d’examen géoscientifique de la Gestion adaptative progressive (GEG-GAP) en est un exemple. Cela améliorera la conception et l'exécution du programme, contribuera à la qualité globale du programme et contribuera à accroître la confiance du public dans les plans de mise en oeuvre et les décisions de la SGDN.

Reddition de comptes

La SGDN se conforme à des normes très élevées en matière de reddition de comptes afin de démontrer l’intégrité, l’excellence, l’engagement, la responsabilité et la transparence que nous exerçons dans la mise en oeuvre de la GAP. La SGDN fait régulièrement rapport sur nos progrès, particulièrement en réponse aux commentaires des Canadiens et aux changements dans l’environnement externe.

La LDCN oblige la SGDN à publier des rapports annuels et triennaux. Ces rapports sont présentés au ministre des Ressources naturelles Canada et au public en même temps. Le ministre doit déposer les rapports au Parlement et formuler une déclaration sur chacun des rapports.

Engagements internationaux

La SGDN continuera de participer aux rencontres internationales reliées à la Convention commune sur la sûreté de la gestion du combustible usé et sur la sûreté de la gestion des déchets radioactifs (Convention commune) pour faire état de nos progrès. En vertu de la Convention commune, le Canada doit démontrer qu’il respecte ses engagements internationaux sur la gestion sûre des déchets radioactifs et du combustible nucléaire irradié.